Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is awful. The muffins taste like pure sugar with loads of grease, and are excessively chewy. It's a lot of trouble to prep the pans, as well, and the muffins still stick. I should have known better when it called for mixing the brown sugar with the flour, while mixing the butter with the eggs. As I should have expected, the butter formed into balls in the cold eggs. I've never seen a recipe that didn't call for creaming the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs, and finally, adding those wet ingredients into the dry ones. Did I mention, they smell terrible?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! The only problem I had was trying to cream the butter with the eggs. I eventually gave up and just added in the rest of the ingredients. They turned out well, though! Like some other reviewers, I added about a tablespoon more flour and used Baker's Joy, and they turned out great! I also used a regular muffin tin (it made 10 muffins) and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great party food. I made it just like the recipe states and I wouldn't change anything. I had 4 people ask me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I added some vanilla because one reviewer said "they were missing something" and I think this did the trick. I made half a recipe and it made 16-1 TBS muffins. The first batch I baked for 15 minutes and the second for 12 minutes. I like the shorter baking time. These are going to go on my dessert buffet on Christmas--if they last that long. They are in the freezer now, but I know they are there; hopefully, out of sight, out of mind. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I get requests for these tasty muffins over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Make them as mini-muffins. Perfect size for parties, and they won't fall apart on you. Not to mention you get more of that crispy, chewy crust. Spray the pan with Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just tried this recipes today and it was a success. I read the reviews about this recipe and some said that this recipe was more like a pecan tart without the crust, but I feel like it tasted like a muffin. The texture was more dense than a muffin, but the taste was definitely not as sweet as a tart. Also, I baked my mini pecan pie muffins in paper liners and they did not stick. In fact, the liner peeled off quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These delicious once I got past the fact that they are not "muffins". They are really a crustless tart. I wish I had known that before I made these for my kids for breakfast. The 4 and not 5 stars is not for the taste but the name. It is misleading but delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My son is deployed so He won't have my chocolate chip pecan pie this year... So.. I bought pint sized mason jars,sterilized them, added 1/3 cup chocolate chips, 1tsp vanilla and baked them in a 325 oven for 45 min ( or until the tester comes out clean). I placed the seal and lid on. The jars will pop when they are sealed. I will ship them to him in time for Christmas.I made atest batch and tried them from the jar 2 weeks later...yum!!! Be sure to use a knife to run around inside and they will slide right out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These were awesome!! I added a 1/4 tsp. of salt as others suggested and made them in a regular muffin tin.. loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States