Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Wow. These are soooo good! My husband absolutely loves pecan pie and requests the mini versions all year long. I have tried quite a few different recipes using different crusts and whatnot. These are hands down his all time favorite. I have to say, mine as well. They're so quick and easy to make and the outcome is delicious. Crunchy on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside, they almost have a dense brownie texture. I've been hassled for another batch since making the first so I told my husband I can only make these once a week. That was last week so naturally the second batch is in the oven as I write this! THANK YOU PRISSYCAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used 3/4 c. flour to make them more muffin-y. The original recipe is very dense (like pecan pie--what the name says!) and I could only get 8 muffins out of it. Superb pecan taste, however! I gave some to my neighbors and they raved about them all year! I also made some for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day--shipped well, with the extra flour added. Without that, they are just too gelatin-like to ship well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
You won't believe how good these are. They taste exactly like pecan pie. They are Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I suggest you try these, even though I only gave them 3 stars. They are SUPER easy! With that said... I didn't love these, but I liked them. They didn't taste as much like pecan pie as I had hoped. (To be fair, this is probably only because, to me, the texture of pecan pie is part of what makes it so good.) I did eat a lot of them as my sugar addiction kept me going back, which is ironic because I thought they were too sweet. I will definitely make them again, but I will add semi-sweet chocolate chips and coconut. I may even add a pinch of salt (my pecans were not salted). I made some in a mini muffin pan, but getting them out was a bigger pain than what I wanted. (I didn't like having to wait for them to cool...) So, I baked the rest as if they were brownies. I will definitely continue making them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are simply delicious and so quick and easy they can be whipped up for an impromptu coffee date with a friend. I used a silicone mini muffin pan that I sprayed with no-stick spray with added flour (Pam for Baking in Canada) and they popped right out of their little cups with no sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fabulous! My family has a new addiction! I have made these as written (and they were great!) and I have also made them dairy free (using earth balance, worked perfect) and then gluten and dairy free using earth balance and GF Bisquick for the flour. If you use the Bisquick, I would maybe make in an 8x8 pan or just don't put a lot of batter in each. I had a huge mess, but they still taste awesome, even being eaten with a spoon straight from the pan! Using a GF all-purpose flour might work better, I'm new to GF cooking so still learning. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wow!! These are awesome!! I will admit that I was surprised. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/2 cup butter and added a splash of vanilla. I have made 24 mini muffins so far... and still have batter for more. Definately will be making these again!! I wanted to add- I also at first tried the liners... they stuck really bad. So the next batch I made I just sprayed the mini muffin tin llike crazy and then right when they came out of the oven, I ran a plastic knife (so I wouldn't scratch the tin) around and under the muffins so they wouldn't stick. After doing that and them cooling for a couple of minutes, they popped right out. I think the trick is to loosen them in the tin before they cool. Everyone who tried these, have loved them (the 2nd batch with no liners). Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll be making these around the holidays for the goodie gifts I give out... better than making a whole pie and so much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I read a few reviews and wondered about the muffin liners...after reading TANYAHOLMAN's review, i experiemented a bit. Mini muffins are definately the way to go...so then I tried a few variations with muffin liners; regular, parchment lined foil, and none at all. The winner was no liner. I used EV olive oil to coat the cups (nonstick mini muffing pan) & coated with sugar. They popped right out! the others were stuck to the paper...thx for the tip it worked out great. I also made a 2nd batch. I used a bit of vanilla, dash of salt, and a splash of sugarfree maple syrup...I like mine gooey as well, so I baked them at 330 for 15-17 mins and they came out great.. My husband's favorite idulgence has always been Pecan Pie...he loved them. Great recipe& great tips, thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These are awesome!!! Quick and easy to make. No problem with the muffins sticking to the pan, I sprayed it with baker's joy. I only baked them for 17 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandevillemiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I hate giving a bad review but these are awful. HOLY BUTTER! There is not much taste to them either besides for the pecans which i toasted before hand. I cant serve these to my family, i love them too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States