Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Had these the other day at a luncheon. They were absolutely wonderful. They are like mini pecan pies. A crispy texture on the outside and slightly gooey in the middle just like a pecan pie. Will have to make these myself this holiday season. Thank you for sharing your recipe. A must try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made these last night and I thought they were not sweet enough, but this morning they tasted so yummy! Pecans are very expensive in Germany and I can't find them in stores unless I order them online, so I did a trial test with chopped walnuts. I baked them the full 25 minutes and I used a good quality, non-stick mini muffin tin from Wilton (I greased and floured the cups anyway). I can't really say that they tasted like walnut pie, in this case, but they were delicious nonetheless! I will make these again with pecans for the holidays. And a note for those who add more flour to the batter: please follow the recipe, otherwise, the muffins will have more of a cake-like texture. I also think that using a good quality pan is also key to avoiding the muffins from sticking to the pan. Thanks for sharing your recipe, prissycat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I don't usually like overly sweet stuff but didn't think these were sweet enough... So, I melted some dark chocolate chips with milk in a microwave and used it to cover the top of each muffin. I also made some candied pecans and put it on the top of the chocolate coating. I personally didn't think too much of them but my husband thought they were REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Delish, fast and easy!! I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the dry mix and 1 tsp vanilla to the wet. Also be sure to take the time to prepare your pans or you will regret it! I used silicone mini muffin pans which I buttered then floured lightly. I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These are so easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Newcomb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These started to rise like a muffin should, then spread out over the top of the muffin "holes" in the muffin pan. They tasted good but I had to invert them when I removed them and called them "little hats" because they were flat and had a brim. I have made them several times and this always happens. I have bought fresh flour and done all I know to do, following the recipe. Did anyone else have this problem and solve it? Help me if you did. Could I have been filling the mini muffin hole too full? They taste wonderful but I would like them to look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
A friend gave me this recipe several years ago. Since then, it has been my most requested item to take to pot luck luncheons. Suggestions: With all the butter in this recipe, I have found it is not necessary to grease and flour my pans. It might depend on the type of pan you are using. Knowing when to remove from the oven is key. I watch for the edges to get golden brown and a little bit crusty. It takes 13 to 15 minutes in my mini muffin pans, so check them frequently the first time you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
These were delicious but they stuck to the pan even when I used nonstick mini muffin pans and cooking spray. I will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Elaine Abell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
So good! Everyone raved! Followed the directions exactly, used mini muffin pan sprayed with Baker's Joy. Perfect! No problems, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
WOW! These really did taste like half muffin/half pecan pie! Very awesome. I put them in for the suggested 20min and they cooked perfectly. People LOVED them! My only suggestion for next time would be to lower the amount of butter. I felt like they were oily when I took each bite. In fact, when I went to heat up the leftovers in the microwave the following day, butter pooled at the bottom of the plate, and if I lightly squeezed the muffin, then butter would squirt out. The batter was liquid enough that I think cutting it down by a bit would be all you need to do, and I bet they'd be just as great and a little bit healthier. UPDATE: I made them again last night, using only 1/3c butter instead of 2/3c. They cooked wonderfully and were still moist. Cutting the butter down was the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States