Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by apron_baker
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
i just made them and they are delicious. They just came out the oven and yumm yumm yumm! I took someone 's suggestion and added in a tad bit of vanilla to it and it came out great! The reason i gave this 4 stars is because i think it was a little too much butter. Next time i will use less butter, maybe a tablespoon or 2 less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apron_baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
SUPER easy and EVERYONE loved them!! Here's what I did a bit differently. I used 1/2 cup of butter, added a splash of vanilla extract. I liberally sprayed my mini muffin tin with the baking spray/flour combo. It was store brand and I had zero issues with sticking. My pan was dark so as someone else suggested, I baked it at 325 for 15 minutes. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
By the time I finished reading many of the reviews, I was terrified! All that sticking and gooiness and whatever! But most people, despite negative comments, said that they TASTED wonderful, so I decided to be brave..... Well, these are the most adorable little things to look at and to enjoy! Worried, from comments, that I would practically have to use pliers to get them out of the pan, I sprayed with Pam AND I buttered and sugared each little cup lightly. Since I was using a dark pan, I baked at 325. I tied myself to the kitchen chair so that I could keep an eye on the little guys and so that nothing could go wrong! The changes I made were due to suggestions: I added a bit of vanilla and I used only 1/2 cup of butter which I melted (I usually melt any butter called for in a muffin recipe since it seems to yield a more tender muffin). I set the timer for 15 minutes. Ding! What came out of the oven were 12 perfect little muffins that were a cinch to remove from the pan! I had enough batter for another dozen and this time I used liners (Pam-sprayed lightly). Another pan of perfection. Although they look prettier in liners, there was a teensy sticking problem here and there, but not enough to ruin the muffins. Probably a bit more Pam would help. Please, folks, try making these again if they did not work out the first time. They are perfect for a little tea party! So glad I accepted the challenge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I decreased the sugar to 3/4c., decreased the butter to 1/2c., and added 2T. oatmeal, 1/4t. salt, and 1/2t. vanilla. Very good! I used cupcake liners and had no problems getting the muffins out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These are pretty good, but not awesome. I used regular-sized muffin tins and greased with butter. There was no problem with sticking. I think I was expecting more of the gooiness that you get with pecan pie. Next time I will lower the oven temp as one poster suggested and reduce the cooking time to 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quinny
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Unbelievably delicious. They are perfect just the way they are. I would recommend using silicon muffin liners for easy release.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I don't really care for pecan pie but my husband adores it. So, I thought I would give these a shot because the ingredients didn't seem like the result would be too sweet for my taste. THEY WERE FANTASTIC. The absolute best pecan recipe I've found. I have made them at least a 1/2 dz times since Thanksgiving and had to e-mail this recipe to at least 15 ppl. SOOO GOOD! Plus, my husband dug them so much I wasn't forced to make the actual pie this year! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is awful. The muffins taste like pure sugar with loads of grease, and are excessively chewy. It's a lot of trouble to prep the pans, as well, and the muffins still stick. I should have known better when it called for mixing the brown sugar with the flour, while mixing the butter with the eggs. As I should have expected, the butter formed into balls in the cold eggs. I've never seen a recipe that didn't call for creaming the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs, and finally, adding those wet ingredients into the dry ones. Did I mention, they smell terrible?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! The only problem I had was trying to cream the butter with the eggs. I eventually gave up and just added in the rest of the ingredients. They turned out well, though! Like some other reviewers, I added about a tablespoon more flour and used Baker's Joy, and they turned out great! I also used a regular muffin tin (it made 10 muffins) and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great party food. I made it just like the recipe states and I wouldn't change anything. I had 4 people ask me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States