Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The name of these muffins and the very basic ingredients had me very intrigued. I love pecan pie so I was hopeful. The muffins are *okay* but in my opinion not worth the gazillion calories they must contain. If I'm going to eat that much fat and sugar it should be mouthwatering and these muffins simply are not. Doubt I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda_wlu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Love these little gems! I'm a huge fan of pecan pie, so this makes it really easy to satisfy my craving. I did feel they were missing something, so next time I will add a little salt and some vanilla (or rum!) extract. I made half a batch, which gave me 12 mini muffins. I greased and floured my non-stick pan. I let them cool in the pan, then gave them a little twist and they popped right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These were really good and moist. They do stick to the muffin tin even with a good coating of shortening but popped out alright with a spoon. I was expecting a little more flavor, but they are actually the right "muffin" taste- not too sweet and not too bland. The recipe made 24 muffins for me and I baked them for 16 minutes to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good - went according to the recipe - very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
A good finger food. Used less butter because I didn't have the full amount. The only thing I would change next time is to add some vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes! The crispy outside and gooey inside are perfect, especially in the mini muffins. I always add 1 tsp. of vanilla to mine though and it gives them a little extra flavor matching pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These little muffins are absolutely delicious. I got 35 mini muffins out of this recipe and they are a perfect size. My husband said he thought he could eat them all! FYI, I did add a splash of vanilla extract. The only problem I had was they stuck horribly in the pan. Nearly all of them were torn up just trying to get them out of the pan. The first batch I just sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. The second batch I sprayed then floured and wiped away the excess and then wiped a little butter in each cup. They still stuck but not as bad. I will try mini muffin liners next time. Other than the sticking problem, they were just so delightfully tasty, I will make them again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by apron_baker
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
i just made them and they are delicious. They just came out the oven and yumm yumm yumm! I took someone 's suggestion and added in a tad bit of vanilla to it and it came out great! The reason i gave this 4 stars is because i think it was a little too much butter. Next time i will use less butter, maybe a tablespoon or 2 less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apron_baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
SUPER easy and EVERYONE loved them!! Here's what I did a bit differently. I used 1/2 cup of butter, added a splash of vanilla extract. I liberally sprayed my mini muffin tin with the baking spray/flour combo. It was store brand and I had zero issues with sticking. My pan was dark so as someone else suggested, I baked it at 325 for 15 minutes. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
By the time I finished reading many of the reviews, I was terrified! All that sticking and gooiness and whatever! But most people, despite negative comments, said that they TASTED wonderful, so I decided to be brave..... Well, these are the most adorable little things to look at and to enjoy! Worried, from comments, that I would practically have to use pliers to get them out of the pan, I sprayed with Pam AND I buttered and sugared each little cup lightly. Since I was using a dark pan, I baked at 325. I tied myself to the kitchen chair so that I could keep an eye on the little guys and so that nothing could go wrong! The changes I made were due to suggestions: I added a bit of vanilla and I used only 1/2 cup of butter which I melted (I usually melt any butter called for in a muffin recipe since it seems to yield a more tender muffin). I set the timer for 15 minutes. Ding! What came out of the oven were 12 perfect little muffins that were a cinch to remove from the pan! I had enough batter for another dozen and this time I used liners (Pam-sprayed lightly). Another pan of perfection. Although they look prettier in liners, there was a teensy sticking problem here and there, but not enough to ruin the muffins. Probably a bit more Pam would help. Please, folks, try making these again if they did not work out the first time. They are perfect for a little tea party! So glad I accepted the challenge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States