Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These are good, but I just had a pecan pie bread (similar to a banana bread) and it was outstanding. Maybe this needs a little corn syrup. May try to tweek it a bit to make them again. These are better once they are cooled or even refrigerated. Nicely crisp on the outside and soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I love these and unfortunatley I can't keep away from them. I did add a dash of vanilla as someone suggested. With Pilsbury Baking spray these came out with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loves2cook
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These are wonderful. Everytime I make them to take somewhere, everyone just raves about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Wow. These are soooo good! My husband absolutely loves pecan pie and requests the mini versions all year long. I have tried quite a few different recipes using different crusts and whatnot. These are hands down his all time favorite. I have to say, mine as well. They're so quick and easy to make and the outcome is delicious. Crunchy on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside, they almost have a dense brownie texture. I've been hassled for another batch since making the first so I told my husband I can only make these once a week. That was last week so naturally the second batch is in the oven as I write this! THANK YOU PRISSYCAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used 3/4 c. flour to make them more muffin-y. The original recipe is very dense (like pecan pie--what the name says!) and I could only get 8 muffins out of it. Superb pecan taste, however! I gave some to my neighbors and they raved about them all year! I also made some for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day--shipped well, with the extra flour added. Without that, they are just too gelatin-like to ship well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
You won't believe how good these are. They taste exactly like pecan pie. They are Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I suggest you try these, even though I only gave them 3 stars. They are SUPER easy! With that said... I didn't love these, but I liked them. They didn't taste as much like pecan pie as I had hoped. (To be fair, this is probably only because, to me, the texture of pecan pie is part of what makes it so good.) I did eat a lot of them as my sugar addiction kept me going back, which is ironic because I thought they were too sweet. I will definitely make them again, but I will add semi-sweet chocolate chips and coconut. I may even add a pinch of salt (my pecans were not salted). I made some in a mini muffin pan, but getting them out was a bigger pain than what I wanted. (I didn't like having to wait for them to cool...) So, I baked the rest as if they were brownies. I will definitely continue making them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are simply delicious and so quick and easy they can be whipped up for an impromptu coffee date with a friend. I used a silicone mini muffin pan that I sprayed with no-stick spray with added flour (Pam for Baking in Canada) and they popped right out of their little cups with no sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fabulous! My family has a new addiction! I have made these as written (and they were great!) and I have also made them dairy free (using earth balance, worked perfect) and then gluten and dairy free using earth balance and GF Bisquick for the flour. If you use the Bisquick, I would maybe make in an 8x8 pan or just don't put a lot of batter in each. I had a huge mess, but they still taste awesome, even being eaten with a spoon straight from the pan! Using a GF all-purpose flour might work better, I'm new to GF cooking so still learning. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wow!! These are awesome!! I will admit that I was surprised. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/2 cup butter and added a splash of vanilla. I have made 24 mini muffins so far... and still have batter for more. Definately will be making these again!! I wanted to add- I also at first tried the liners... they stuck really bad. So the next batch I made I just sprayed the mini muffin tin llike crazy and then right when they came out of the oven, I ran a plastic knife (so I wouldn't scratch the tin) around and under the muffins so they wouldn't stick. After doing that and them cooling for a couple of minutes, they popped right out. I think the trick is to loosen them in the tin before they cool. Everyone who tried these, have loved them (the 2nd batch with no liners). Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll be making these around the holidays for the goodie gifts I give out... better than making a whole pie and so much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States