Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Todd Blevins
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Heck yes! So good. I had to cook it quite a bit longer than recipe called for. I think my oven's temp may be a bit off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Blevins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Wonderful and easy. I used light corn syrup, decreased the nuts to a heaping cup, increased the butter to 4 Tbsp, and added a splash of bourbon in place of the vanilla. This is a good base for English Walnut Pie and what can't be legally called Derby Pie (1/2 c chopped nuts and 1/2 c chocolate chips). It's a keeper. Thanks, Earthymom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The best pecan pie i have ever made. all my family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I use this recipe ever year for Thanksgiving! Because the recipe isn't clear, I usually use golden brown sugar and light corn syrup. This is the first year I'm trying it with a bit of dark corn syrup. We'll see how it turns out! Also, in a pinch, I've gotten white sugar to work in replace of brown... but not as good! I gave it four stars though, because I had to bake it for almost 30 minutes longer than the recipe called for. Also, on the sweet side... but I like sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Absolutely perfect! This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Maybe with one less egg this would have been okay. However, my pie was RIDICULOUSLY runny. I followed the recipe exactly as it said. After 60 minutes my crust was done and the pie was literally still liquid. This was supposed to be a birthday gift for my father. Oh well....guess he's getting a store bought pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Jane Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Husband loves it! I had to have pecans sent to me from the States though to make it. Very much worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this for my family for pi day, everybody loved it. The edge got a little burnt, but it wasn't black or anything, just a little brown. The center got a little gooey, but it wasn't soggy. The 4 year old doesn't like nuts, so ate out the filling, and left the pecans :). The only other thing is that I only used 3/4 of a cup of corn syrup instead of 1. Everything else went perfectly, too! Recipe was amazing, thank you, EARTHYMOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I used dark brown sugar (that's all I had in the house) and it was fine. My biggest problem was that the gooey filling somehow wound up seeping between the crust and my pie plate. There weren't any holes or tears. I followed the directions on the pie crust box. So anyway, about a third of the crust was stuck to the plate and it didn't come out nicely. Also, even though it was done, the knife didn't come out clean. So it was misleading (I singed the first one) because I didn't think it was done. In spite of the crust fiasco, it tasted great. It wasn't sickly, saccharine sweet, which was great. I also added extra pecans. This was my first pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Oh WOW! Loved it. I made them into tarts (made with homemade pie crust) and baked them for 20 min. Filled the tarts almost to the top with the filling. Sooooo good! Even put about a tbsp of chocolate chips into some of them for chocolate pecan tarts. I would make these again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States