Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Perfect 'as is,' no changes. My only advice concerns baking & prep. 1) Let eggs come to room temp. If you don't, the pie won't be done by the time specified, resulting in burnt crust & unset filling. 2) Toast the pecans in the oven until browned slightly, between 5-10 min after oven is preheated. It brings out their flavor & helps form a seal so they aren't mushy or hard to cut. 3) Using dark corn syrup, light corn syrup or Lyle's golden syrup (has maple flavoring) all net the same great results. However, in general, baking is a science & ingredients should be subbed carefully; guessing rarely works. 4) Bake on the bottom rack. This helps avoid a burnt crust, plus keep in mind that all ovens are different. I use 325 and cook until the middle no longer jiggles, checking at 40 and 50 min. I have another recipe that demands more pecans (wasteful), and I like a balance of filling & pecans. This recipe is a classic, and it's the only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am personally still struggling with this pie, my first one came out with the top burned way before the middle solidified. My second attempt (in a better oven) turned out a lot more edible but the middle still hadn't solidified quite right. What I do like about this recipe is that it is very simple so it's a good starting point for my pecan pie making career. After talking it over with more experienced pie makers I'm going to add more corn syrup and chop up the pecans next time to make it easier to eat with a fork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
So simple to make and tasty! Did take about 1 hr 15 min in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made for Thanksgiving - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Not sure why the ratings are so high on this. It says to cook until knife comes out clean, well that didn't happen until almost 2 hours of baking and then the pecans actually had a burnt taste to them. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Didn't want to firm up but still had good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe ! Substituted lite corn syrup & I baked 50 mins. I was a 1st time baker of this dessert....YUMMY.....Don't forget to wrap outside crust with foil so it doesn't burn...Enjoy this wonderful pie.Thanks for your recipe,my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NE1canCook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love a good Pecan Pie recipe. This one is simple and if you follow the recipe exactly - you will have a perfect pecan pie. Thank you for sharing - it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NE1canCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a quick (and extremely enlightening) recipe. Never tried my hand at a pecan pie, but had some laying about and used this recipe on thanksgiving. It was quite the hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is the perfect pecan pie. Just as good or better than the kind you get in stores or restaurants. I had a 9.5 inch pie dish, so I had to increase the recipe a tad, or it would've been way too thin. After reading another review, I learned that you can dump the pecans into the bottom of the crust before pouring in the filling, because hey! Pecans actually float. That helped! To make the pecan arrangement on top pretty, though, I sat them on top very neatly, and just pushed each one straight down into the mixture until it covered the pecan, and they floated right back up into place again. This is what gives them that sweet firm glaze that I absolutely love. Make sure the pie doesn't jiggle after baking- jiggling means its not done. The clean knife rule works well. Baked an extra 10-15 minutes longer for my slightly thicker pie. A huge hit at Christmas with my future in-laws. An impressive pie that's easier than it looks. Again- perfect recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States