Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by docswife
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very basic pecan pie recipe. I made this for my ill grandmother and she loved it. I made it one time with the store bought crust and made my own crust another time. Results were excellent both times. Mine did take about 25 minutes longer to cook, so watch the oven time closely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe was perfect! I made it and everyone loved it. It was really easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is the perfect classic pecan pie. My mother always used white sugar instead of brown and it is delicious! One thing I found out the hard way, do NOT use an off-brand corn syrup! I made two pies for a family gathering using a store brand corn syrup with everything else the same and they NEVER did set up!! I made two more using Karo and they turned out perfect. I will never use an off brand again. Hope this is the answer for those who say their pie did not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made as written for Easter dinner and pie was delicious!! It did take a few extra minutes in the over to bake, was slightly jiggly after 55 minutes. Took about 65-70 minutes for me, but was worth the wait. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CardsFan4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This pie was simple & amazing! I browned the pecans in the oven beforehand as suggested. I won't need to look for another pecan pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Why oh why did i read this and make it? Its all I want now!! I did melt the butter in a glass bowl and use that bowl for the corn syrup, it seemed to get it all out. I also used dark corn syrup so I used half dark brown and half white sugar. This is soooo good and easy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was incredible. My pie was deep dish so to fill it up more I layered shredded coconut and chocolate chips over the pecans, before pouring the syrup/egg mixture on top. Barely made it until all my guests showed up. Too many wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellet as is . No need to change a thing !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
PERFECT yummy BIG hit at Christmas Dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I've made this pie a few times now, and it has been met with rave reviews. Heed the other commenters; you really don't need as many pecans as the recipe calls for. Also, don't overbake or the filling becomes brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States