Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was my first pecan pie and was sooo easy. Everyone loved it. I used a regular pie dish and it was perfect but I did have to put foil around the crust 1/2 way thru to prevent it from burning. Will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This pie was so good and really simple to make. Even my mother-in-law told me that it was as good if not better than her late sisters famous pecan pie. I did change the recipe just a hair. I added a pinch of salt which is always necessary when you bake and exchanged corn starch for flour. I also added three tablespoons of butter just to up the richness. Don't forget to add tin foil to the side of your crust to prevent burning, it's not mentioned in the recipe but it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I'm not a pecan pie fan, but my 18 yr. old daughter loves it and requested I make it for Thanksgiving! AMAZING PIE!!! So extremely easy and tasted great! I did the corn syrup half dark / half light and that worked really well. My sister makes pecan pie every year and my daughter said my pie was "way better" than hers. I'll make this recipe a tradition for Thanksgiving since it was so easy and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I decided to make this recipe for Thanksgiving. It was my first attempt at pecan pie. I never assumed it was difficult, I just never made it! I did half light and half dark corn syrup. Not sure what kind of a difference it made from the original. It does have a nice "roasted" taste to it. Do I think it's the best pecan pie I've had? No. But it's good, and very simple to make so you can whip it up for emergencies. I also had to extend the baking time. If I make this again, the one thing I'd change is to use 75% of the nuts chopped and 25% whole. I used all whole and found a lot of excessive chewing was needed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galfriday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Tasted good, althought my browned up more than i would have liked. Also, after a few days, the pie separated. All the corn syrup sat in a puddle in teh pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Though I've made many pies in my life, I had never made a pecan pie until this Thanksgiving. This was DELICIOUS! I wouldn't change a thing....though I did use half chopped pecans and half whole. All in all it was absolutely perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDAJST

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This pie turned out great! My son and I made this together and it was easy and quick. It did take about 10 minutes longer to bake than stated in the recipe but was an excellent pie. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly with the light syrup and it was delicious! It was plenty sweet. I think the dark syrup would have been too much. Another reviewer suggested adding a bit of salt. I might try that on the next round to cut the sweetness a little, but it is delicious and super easy as is. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Love this recipe!! I have made it several times and it always comes out good. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
So good! Made this for Thanksgiving and it was gobbled up in no time. I got many compliments on this pie. I used a normal pie pan (just one of those cheap metal types) and the full recipe fit perfectly. It was also very simple to make. Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States