Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have been making this pie for at least 15 years. No other recipe comes close. Anita:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
dark corn syrup makes this 5 stars without any whipped cream necessary. I get raves and recipe requests every time i bring it to parties and I ALWAYS have to make 2. If you like the nuts more than the filling, reduce the corn syrup by 1/4 c. and increase the nuts by 1/4 c. This slight change CONVERTS non-pecan pie lovers...including myself who only tried this recipe to please a boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I substituted dark corn syrup for half of the corn syrup and used light brown sugar instead of white sugar and it was absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very yummy! I took advice of other reviewers' and melted 1/4 c. butter and dissolved one tablespoon flour into that. It was soooo good, the first pie I've ever made...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! They want me to make it again next year too! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made 2 pecan pies for Thanksgiving, one fr. the back of the Karo's bottle and this one. This one won overwhelmingly in terms of taste, just the right amount of sweetness and pecans, but the center just didn't set for me. I added 4 tbsp. of melted butter w/ 1 tbsp. of flour as other reviewers suggested and I think this really improved the taste, but may have contributed to the pie not setting. This tasted so good that I'm willing to play around with it to get the texture right. I hope another 10 minutes in the oven will fix this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great recipe. It was a little too sweet for our taste. I'll omit the sugar next time I make it. Took a while to sit but that was okay. Turned out great in texture. I added 1/4 c of butter and 1 tablespoon of flour like others suggested. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My advice to all is do not fool with perfection. This is the BEST pecan pie I have ever eaten. I've tried many of the variations recommended but I found that it was no where as good as Pat's grandmother's pie Thank you Pat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Don't mess with perfection. Make the pie exactly as directed in the recipe. We accidently burnt the top of one and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryoh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Came out really well, but the top of the pie and the crust both burn very easily. :[ A little too sweet for my tastes, I would reduce the amount of sugar to a little less than 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States