Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is the first time Ive tried this recipe. It worked perfectly as written --- with the addition of 1 tbsp flour mixed into 1/4 cup melted butter and then added to mixture. I checked it at 30 mins and it was still VERY jiggly, so 45 mins was perfect. If I can do this right...anyone can. Its awesome and satisfied my craving for pecan pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Profesrebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This didnt work out so well for me. I may come back and try it again after I try some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
HUsband loved it. I liked it. and I'm not a pie person! no change to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Tastes good but Tricky to make it work just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made this for my mother and grandmothers birthday lunch. SOO yummy, everyone had seconds! My mom asked what recipe I used because she always had a hard time finding a pecan pie recipe that would set at our high altitude. This pie set perfectly. I added the butter and flour as recommended in some of the other reviews. I will definitely be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is my second failed pie. I made this exactly as written, but added a little more time at the end. I'm not very experienced at baking pies, and I live at a high elevation - I wish I knew how to fix "soupy" pies. I used a store-bought refrigerated crust, put it in a disposable metal pie tin, and used sea salt. Testing at 45 minutes, the center was quite liquid and the crust wasn't even browned. So I added 5 minutes, which barely improved things - but I heeded the warning to "not overbake". I wonder what would happen if I cooked it a lot longer - would the filling finally "set" sometime? As it is, this was disappointing - the taste was good, but appearance- and texture-wise it was a gloppy mess. (I usually read all previous reviews before posting my own, but I'm skipping all 129 this time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is the first pecan pie I've ever made and it was awesome! I accidently put in a whole cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup but it was still just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This pie was delicious, although a little dense to cut through on the day I made it. The day after the texture lightened and was great. I used a pre-made graham cracker crust so to keep this pie lactose free. I used 1 1/4 cups of chopped pecans. I may have over baked the pie by 15 minutes(in my convection oven) since I forgot to check the pie after 30 minutes as suggested. I will make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. After baking and cooling for designated times, this was still as runny as soup. Good thing I had an apple pie to serve as well for Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABISMOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a good pie, thickened very well just as the recipe is written. I don't feel any changes need to made. A small piece goes a long way, sweet and nutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States