Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Taste is awesome, but filling remained a bit more runny than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I have to say I was disappointed with how it set. It had great flavor but I was nervous about not cooking it longer than the recipe stated because it looked soupy in the middle after the 45 minutes in the oven. The recipe says to not overbake it but I had faith and hoped it would set after it had cooled. Bringing this pie over to a friend's dinner I was embarrassed to see the first slice cut out only to drip and ooze over the server. It had completely cooled at this point and still hadn't set! Perhaps if I had popped it into the fridge for a few hours it would have set better. If I ever decide to make pecan pie again I will try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is the first time Ive tried this recipe. It worked perfectly as written --- with the addition of 1 tbsp flour mixed into 1/4 cup melted butter and then added to mixture. I checked it at 30 mins and it was still VERY jiggly, so 45 mins was perfect. If I can do this right...anyone can. Its awesome and satisfied my craving for pecan pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Profesrebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This didnt work out so well for me. I may come back and try it again after I try some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
HUsband loved it. I liked it. and I'm not a pie person! no change to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Tastes good but Tricky to make it work just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made this for my mother and grandmothers birthday lunch. SOO yummy, everyone had seconds! My mom asked what recipe I used because she always had a hard time finding a pecan pie recipe that would set at our high altitude. This pie set perfectly. I added the butter and flour as recommended in some of the other reviews. I will definitely be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is my second failed pie. I made this exactly as written, but added a little more time at the end. I'm not very experienced at baking pies, and I live at a high elevation - I wish I knew how to fix "soupy" pies. I used a store-bought refrigerated crust, put it in a disposable metal pie tin, and used sea salt. Testing at 45 minutes, the center was quite liquid and the crust wasn't even browned. So I added 5 minutes, which barely improved things - but I heeded the warning to "not overbake". I wonder what would happen if I cooked it a lot longer - would the filling finally "set" sometime? As it is, this was disappointing - the taste was good, but appearance- and texture-wise it was a gloppy mess. (I usually read all previous reviews before posting my own, but I'm skipping all 129 this time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is the first pecan pie I've ever made and it was awesome! I accidently put in a whole cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup but it was still just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This pie was delicious, although a little dense to cut through on the day I made it. The day after the texture lightened and was great. I used a pre-made graham cracker crust so to keep this pie lactose free. I used 1 1/4 cups of chopped pecans. I may have over baked the pie by 15 minutes(in my convection oven) since I forgot to check the pie after 30 minutes as suggested. I will make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States