Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I should have tried the original recipe first, before the butter and flour fiasco. I'm sure the recipe would be fine, just as written, and I do not recommend the alternative. I will definitely try this again "AS WRITTEN", and am sorry I didn't do it that way first. I wish the people that add the butter and flour would put a picture up of that pie, cause it did not look like the beautiful pie there now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasibee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Awesome! This was the second pecan pie I made for Thanksgiving. It turned out awesome! Looked like a picture...unfortunately, I didn't take one though! Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
For the life of me I could never get this pie to completely set, even after cooling for a considerable amount of time. I put it back in the oven for a good 20 minutes but to no avail, still soup. Sorry, Pat. Possibly a tablespoon of flour would help? I'll investigate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
By far, this is the best pecan pie I have ever tasted. I felt so proud when my boyfriend, whose favorite dessert is pecan pie, loved it. As for the flour/butter mix, I halved the suggested amount and mixed them together before putting it in the rest of mixture...Absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNicker28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Perfect! I made it for a family get-together and it was gone instantly AND everybody asked for the recipe. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipes makes a Brazilian girl look good in the South! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was like one of those "Way Too Sweet" Pecan Pies you have at someone else's house. It was a little mushy inside when I cut it and the slices didn't present well. After 40 min. in the oven, it was very loose, cooked 3 min more, still too loose, 3 min more, still too loose but removed it. I"m looking for a firmer less sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wow! I just made this tonight, practicing for Thanksgiving. Awesome! I did add the 1/4 cup butter and tablspoon of flour and it was perfect! I added pecan halves on the top and my husband loved it! This will be on my table in a couple of weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Taste is awesome, but filling remained a bit more runny than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I have to say I was disappointed with how it set. It had great flavor but I was nervous about not cooking it longer than the recipe stated because it looked soupy in the middle after the 45 minutes in the oven. The recipe says to not overbake it but I had faith and hoped it would set after it had cooled. Bringing this pie over to a friend's dinner I was embarrassed to see the first slice cut out only to drip and ooze over the server. It had completely cooled at this point and still hadn't set! Perhaps if I had popped it into the fridge for a few hours it would have set better. If I ever decide to make pecan pie again I will try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States