Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made several great pecans pies before, but this was easily the worst. The pie was near overcooked and it was still runny. I would love to give this recipe just one star, but I did the flour/butter alteration instead of the original recipe, so it wouldn't feel right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used dark karo syrup and white sugar. I added 1/4 cup butter and 1 Tbl spoon flour. Melted butter & added flour to butter & dissolved, then added to rest of ingredients. Added pecans last. Also coarse chopped pecans & used 1 rounded cup. Best pecan pie I ever made, and I have made a lot of them over the last 50 years. I baked in a Breville convection oven @350 for 37 mins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband's birthday yesterday as written, no modifications, and it was a huge hit! I say this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was the first time I ever made a pecan pie. I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar(my preference) , but followed the rest of the recipe just as it says....this was the best! My family loved it and wants me to make more for Christmas. I didn't bake any longer than the recipe said, I let it cool for an hour and it was perfect!!!! You can't mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Kids loved it!! My first one!! They ate it before thanksgiving dinner!! Lol!! Making another tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nycolette
Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My daughter made this for thanksgiving yesterday and it was amazing. As others said, the middle wasn't firm when we cooked as directed, but it firmed up perfectly once we let it cool. Highly recommended - my favorite pecan pie ever. Thanks for submitting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is so easy to make and tastes great! LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Love the recipe ...just perfect ... Some times i like to make it nuttier by adding more pecans and walnuts ...what can i say i love nuts ...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe to a "t" and it turned out great. I made this for a Christmas party and people loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've never been a fan of pecan pie, as the one I tried years and years ago was sickenly sweet. However, I made one for my neice last night using this recipe and now I am a loyal fan. I did add the butter and flour, and used half a cup of brown sugar and 2 tbsp of white sugar. I was distracted by a phone call and even managed to leave out the vanilla and salt (!) yet this pie STILL turned out to be amazing. It was a little loose in the center as the recipe says, but it set perfectly once cool. It was such a hit with my husband and neice that I'm trying to decide if I want to leave the vanilla and salt out next time on purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States