Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Rave reviews from my mother, the pecan pie addict.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
This was the first Pecan Pie recipe I ever tried. My husband and father-in-law couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This tastes like a pie that my mom would make!! The only thing I did differently is that I actually roast my pecans in butter first before I put them in the pie. My mom did this as well, and I like the way it makes the pie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I've added this to my staple of recipes, and I get glowing reviews! It's not too sweet, which kept me from making(and eating)pecan pie for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Mom had made pecan pies for years and they were very sweet, but at Christmas she asked me if I'd fix one for my brother. I got this recipe instead because you said it wasn't as sweet. I made this pecan pie (my 1st) and it was great. I did put 3/4 cup brown sugar and used light corn syrup (mainly because it was the only kind I had and didn't want to go to store in mid pie. I also threw in a few extra nuts. My mom said it was great (It had been so long I don't think she knew the diffence between the recipes until I told her, but it was a big hit with everyone at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Last year my Dad moved from Texas up here to NY to be closer to his children. His family is originally from the South. When he was asked by my sister if he had a favorite dessert he would like for Thanksgiving, he said he would like a Pecan Pie, but he was sure she wouldn't know how to make it. Well, determined to make my Dad's favorite, I got on "the Net" to find a recipe and found Mike's. His sister came in for Thanksgiving too (another Southerner). They both commented that this was by far the best pecan pie they ever tasted. I had to admit it was the best I ever had too, because I never had or even baked one before. I had always heard how rich they were. We heated up the pieces and put French Vanilla ice cream on them...Thank you Mike!!!...BTW...I ended up making 2 of them for Christmas last year, and there wasn't a single piece of crust left of them by the end of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Great recipe ! I made one for Thanksgiving and should have baked three ! My fifteen year old son, who wouldn't even eat pecans has decided that this is his favorite pie....Go figure. I'll look forward to making a couple more for Christmas. Thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
this was the easiest pecan pie that I ever made and everyone loved it!! I did add more pecans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This pie is exactly what Mr. Valek promises. "not overly sweet... easy to make, and great served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream". I took it to a get-together at a friend's and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
we really liked this pie! note: not sifting the flour did not have bad side effects. I roasted my nuts in Imperial butter before adding them into the mixture. I also added 1 tbsp. of Kahlua liquor, which it complimented so well. I roasted half-sized pecans and then placed them one by one on top of the pie for decoration. Then when the pie was almost ready, I brushed a lil' bit of beated egg white over the pecans to give it a shiny look. Simply marvelous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States