Pecan Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This was a hit at a book study of ladies. Severely decadent. It's a keeper in my book. Next time though I think I'll make it in a 9x13 pan instead of the 10x15, to make it just a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I made this for a dinner party and it was wonderful. I couldn't rate it a 5 star kid's love it, kids would prefer something less nutty I think, but it's great. Don't panic when you pour the second layer on top, it sinks into the first and disappears. I had to use a 9x12 pan so I cooked it a little longer than this called for. It came out fine. Try it, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT WITH DEVILS FOOD CAKE. GOOD WITH 1 CUP OF CHOCOLATE CHIPS IN THE FILLING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Baier Warren
Home Town: Greenup, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except that I cooked the first layer for 25 minutes before adding the second layer. After adding the second layer I baked my cake for 40 minutes, and it turned out so amazingly perfect. Everyone who has tried it just can NOT get over it. I used a 13x9 pan, and I think that you've got to add the extra time or it will not be cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This recipe was a big hit with my husband since he's a huge pecan pie fan. I thought it was good, but very sweet and rich. I though it would have been better if it was a little thicker, but he said not to change a thing. It looks like I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is very much like pecan pie without the crust. It is gooey and rich, but that's what I love about pecan pie! I made it with whole pecans, because that's how I make my pecan pie. Served it warm and it was just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made this for the Christmas dinner at our church and everyone loved it. It is so moist and gooey just like a pecan pie but much better than any pecan pie I've ever had. Definitely our new favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
i made this and know it will be good...if it sets up. is it supposed to jiggle in the center after the last 35 min of baking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake is awesome! I don't even like pecan pie that much, but I LOVE this cake. My mom, who loves pecan pie, said she likes it even better than pecan pie. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips to the filling like someone suggested previously, and that was really good! I cooked it about 10 minutes longer on the final bake time, and I think next time I will cook it even longer. It is very rich and delicious. My family has requested that I make it at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. As others stated it is gooey and somewhat difficult to serve. I also had a difficult time finding the cake mix. I used Betty Crocker Butter Pecan Cake Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States