Pecan Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by catglaw
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except that I cooked the first layer for 25 minutes before adding the second layer. After adding the second layer I baked my cake for 40 minutes, and it turned out so amazingly perfect. Everyone who has tried it just can NOT get over it. I used a 13x9 pan, and I think that you've got to add the extra time or it will not be cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is a really weird cake to make... I'm still not sure if I did it right. There should really be some description of what the cake should look like/move like/feel like before you pour the second layer onto the first. That being said, it was tasty... Whatever it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I have made this cake many times, and each time I do, it gets rave reviews - everyone loves it! I give it 5 stars without hesitation. It has become my signature dessert. When I show up at a get-together, everyone looks to see if I have pecan pie cake. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Delicious! I used all butter (I REFUSE to buy margarine! YUCK!) and had to up the second baking time significantly. I used pecan halves I had left over from Christmas, and did not bother to chop them. I sprinkled some more on top of the second layer before popping back in the oven. Serve with fresh whipped cream, and it's a little piece of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This cake was so good. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Didnt like this at all,followed the recipe to a T,all the reviews talked about gooey,not gooey like a pecan pie! tastes like half raw cake! sorry, wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, just baked for 45 minutes as suggested by other reviews. It set up completely and wasn't runny. Next time I will add more nuts and corn syrup,if a dessert is sweet I like it REALLY sweet. I could not find Butter Pecan Cake so I used Chocolate mix, it was very good. Never would have thought of it if I didn't see it here. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I love the concept of this recipe. However, it wasn't as good as I thought it would be after reading so many rave reviews. I think the biggest problem I have with it is the texture. So many previous reviewers mentioned the gooiness. Personally, I just think it's half-raw when baked as directed. I left it in an additional 10 minutes but couldn't wait any longer to take it out to make room for the Thanksgiving turkey. I think it could have stayed in another 10-15 minutes and I would have liked it better. I did like the outside edges as they were more "done" than the center. No one ate the center of the cake. If I try it again, I'll bake it a LOT longer, though I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this of the great reviews that it got and I love trying new recipes. I made this for work and they loved it. Hubby loved it also. It's rich and sinful, just like a pecan pie, but better becauset there's no crust to make! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Made this just for fun and oh WOW! Easy and very,very tasty.followed the recipe and didnt make any changes. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayem37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States