Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
First of all. Cake mixes have been reduced as much as 3oz. Jiffy mixes are close if you buy 2. No matter REDUCE THE BUTTER to 1/3 cup. If it is still too soft add a little flour. Next bring the bottom crust up the sides above to 1/2 way up the sides so the filling stays below. After browning crust and adding filling cover all sides with foil to avoid overcooking edges. Avoid cake mixes with pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Totally love this recipe! I've made it MANY times (for Thanksgiving AND Christmas) and it's ALWAYS a huge hit!! My Aunt (who is a MAJOR league accomplished baker) asked me for the recipe!!! There are some reviews stating that something with the crust is amiss. My suggestion is to make it EXACTLY as it states - with butter! This is NOT a "healthy" dessert, so if that's what you're looking for, you might want to skip this one and keep looking instead of making alterations and then giving it a bad review (not fair in my opinion). Anyway.... :) The only suggestion I have is to make sure that the crust is nice and golden and then wait five minutes after you take it out of the oven and then pour the other ingredients on. Other than that, a fantastic recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Too eggy/spongy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Oh. My. God. That is all I'm gonna say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Sorry, but this recipe did not work for me. The crust was way too sticky and the syrup mixture sank to the bottom after pouring it on the crust (maybe cooling the crust first would have helped or not pre-cooking it all?). The edges were overdone, but the middle was undercooked. Although they were a mess, they were still edible. However, I felt there was something missing with the flavor. I hardly ever give a recipe a bad review, but I just did not like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious, easy and lives up to the positive reviews. My only change was to increase pecans to 2 cups. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
MMMMMM.... Didn't last long... need to double batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seneca Rocks, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe is just ok. The cake mix tast was a little overwhelming. Also, needs more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Great tasting bars. I ended up using about a cup and a half of pecans to cover the top better. These were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Awesome recipe! I made for Thanksgiving, and everybody loved them. I am not a fan of pecan pie - too sugary, too gooey, too rich - but the bars have the same flavor and are just right. I used more like 3 cups of pecans - just coated the top until it looked thick and good. Turned out really well, I'd recommend it - I can't imagine them with only 1 cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Tawas, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States