Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Delicious! I made this for a bake day at work and everyone enjoyed it. Very easy to make. Very sweet, though.. watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
These were great bars! They tasted great and were hard to stay away from. Only has one problem...turned out a little too "gooey" and didn't stay together very well. Almost "too buttery" looking, but GREAT tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Paris, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Crust was soggy, and the filling was not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent. This is certainly the easiest of the "Pecan Pie Bar" category. However: The picture attached to this one is NOT, I repeat, NOT what these bars look like. Take the cake layer (in the middle) and move it to the bottom, and mix the other two layers on top and you have an idea closer to what they really are. Also, I agree with previous reviewers on this thread that this version may be a bit too gooey and will not stay together. However, they were much better after they had refridgerated for 24 hours and re-thawed, and I also may have accidentally added too much corn syrup. If this happens to you, no problem-- I still had people compliment them even when I myself was severely disappointed! I'm making these again tomorrow. I will update then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good, followed the directions exactly and turned out great. Made them for Thanksgiving instead of the Pecan Pie. Definitely served more than a pie would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was amazing. My father LOVED it and so did my brother, he wanted to bring an extra batch to work but...they ate them before he could bring them. I'm going to be making them for my family for many more occasions to come. The only thing I did different was to make home-made sugar syrup (i didn't have any dark corn syrup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
These are probably my most requested dessert. Be sure to bake them until the center will no longer move when you shake the pan. Let them cool completely or you will have a mess! They always turn out great and they are SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the most delicious (and probably the least healthy) recipe on this website. I've made this quite a few times now, and I'm getting better at it. Bake the bottom layer for only 15 min, or until solid, just don't overcook it. Oh, and don't be afraid that it's so tough to spread over the bottom of the pan; it's meant to be that way, and you haven't done anything wrong. IMPORTANT: These WILL come out gooey. I ALWAYS cook them a day ahead of time and leave them in the fridge overnight BEFORE cutting them up. You can also use just 1 cup of corn syrup without much difference to the recipe. This way, you use exactly half of a bottle of Karo Dark Corn Syrup (8 oz = 1 cup). But still, the full amount will give you the full experience of these bars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Something is missing from this recipe. I have tried to make it twice now and the crust or whatever you pat in the pan and bake for 15-20 mins is pure glue, I followed it exactly using Imperial margarine with one egg and cake mix (minus the 2/3 cup reserved cake mix), It still didn't work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I would give this 50 STARS if I could. I'm not even a big Pecan Pie fan but it's my husbands favorite and for his birthday I thought I'd give this a try (he hates cake). This recipe was simple enough so I thought I'd give it a try. I made it exactly as written and it was DELICIOUS! I froze it for about an hour after cooling it from the oven and it cut into bars fairly easily. If the pan makes it through the weekend I will be very suprised!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States