Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and gotten rave reviews from all my family and friends. It's quick and easy and recipients will think you spent time and effort on them! Tastes like a mini slice of pecan pie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwatson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Moore
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This recipe is a must have in all recipe boxes. Better than pie! What a wonderful and chewy taste in every morsel. I shared this recipe with a neighbor and this has now become her FAVORITE of all desserts. My only substitute in this recipe was using Almonds rather than Pecans only because I had no pecans on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Moore
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BUSYBEE25
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These are so rich and yummy -- and very easy, actually. Have a friend whose staple dessert is pecan pie -- and now I see why, the basic filling is both easy and impressive. I used butter instead of margarine, of course. Not sure butter was soft enough to fold into cake mix, but it all turned out OK. I ended up adding about 8-10 minutes to the second round of baking to get a nice browning on the top. Only other change was that I used about 1.5 cups of pecans just because I had them and because it looked a little sparse with just a cup. Personal preference, really. Would have probably had more of that pecan pie gelatinous feel if without the extra nuts. Advise waiting until these are really cool before cutting. I tried to cut them into bars when they were warm and they're just too sticky. They cut fine once they cooled, though. Also advise cutting into SMALL pieces. These are very rich. My edges got kind of hard and chewy, too -- not sure you can avoid that really -- but I like those pieces best. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Made these bars for Thanksgiving, and they were a huge hit! I think that they would be especially good with some vanilla ice cream on top. My only issue was that the bars at the edges of the pan were a little bit too tough. But all in all, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have made this recipe several times in the past, and even traded pecans for raisins... makes it almost like one giant butter tart. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
The taste is wonderful. I found the bottom layer of cake a bit hard to spread evenly, but not too bad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Great! I took this to work for a birthday party, and they ate it for breakfast! Now I make it and take it everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States