Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used light corn syrup as that's all I had. I first tried one after it had cooled & it was good but I thought it lacked sweetness. After sitting overnight, it's pecan pie perfection! Thank you so much! I'll definately be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
wonderful! I doubled pecans as well, and used light corn syrup b/c that's what I had on hand and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
these are now my brother in laws favorite item to request at the holidays. very sweet and tasty. be warned it makes alot be prepared to make several trips to the gym cause they are addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Sexton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These are fantastic!! I doubled the pecans as some reviewers suggested. I only had butter, so I used a cup in the crust. These bars are so rich, they are almost sinful. Delicious! A huge hit at my family Christmas gathering. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
use larger pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I only wanted a small pan of pecan pie bars so I cut this recipe in half and baked it in a 8 x 8 glass dish. In place of 2 T. of butter/margarine I used 6 T. of flaxseed meal. I baked the crust a little longer than called for because it just didn't seem to be baking fast enough. I don't know if that was from the flaxseed meal or what. I only used 2 eggs and added a splash of bourbon. I doubled, chopped and toasted the pecans first. I baked the bars at 275 in a convection oven for about 35 minutes. They are chewy and delicious. I only gave them 4 stars because I don't know if they are the "best" pecan pie bars or not. The flaxseed meal was good and added a little nuttier flavor plus made them a tiny bit healthier. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staramaze
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tip: I doubled the Pecans... measured them whole and pulsed them in the food processor until they were the right size. I also toasted the Pecans first when they were whole. For the crust, I used all butter... no margarine. I also used 1/2 of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups standard flour and to add some heartiness. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staramaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These were so good! I recommend using 2 cups pecans instead of 1 cup. Also, don't mix them into the filling. Instead sprinkle them evenly on top. This way all the nuts get toasted rather than just baked into the filling. After they cool for a while put them in the fridge for an hour or so. The taste will develop and get even better. I definitely recommend these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
My kids love this. It's really sweet and rich. I didn't even have enough corn syrup so I ended up using less, plus I substituted some honey, but was still short the whole amount. I can't imagine how sweet it would have been had I completed the recipe with the whole amount. I'll probably keep making it the way I accidentally did this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe... had to conver to a vegan recipe... but still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States