Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were gone the same day! Very delicious, just like pecan pie. However, I made it in a pan bigger than recommended and it still ran over in my oven. Next time I'm going to use a bigger pan. They're yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I made this last year and people liked it, but, for some reason, this year I made it for work and people are addicted to it. I think I let it cook a little bit longer this year so it had a harder consistancy. I definitly recommend this recipe. It's just like pecan pie but easier and less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
These bring back memories. Years ago while living in N.C. we used to get something called "Pecan Short Bars" at a grocery store bakery. They were so yummy and have never seen them since. These taste just like them....so yummy!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Awesome, I was concerned about how the recipe would work in such a shallow pan but it was fine. I halved the recipe and put baked it in a disposable "toaster over" pan fit perfectly, no overflow. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Nice alternative to the traditional pie. I only had 1/2 a cup of corn syrup so I made up the rest with Lyle's Golden Syrup. It made my filling a little dark but didn't effect the taste. Mine did get a little hard around the edges..but it could be that my oven temp is a little off. Very much enjoyed this recipe Marietta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Fantastic! Everyone loved them! They are quite sticky...do not attempt to cut them until they are completely cool. I will save this recipes for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
OUTSTANDING! I've had distrous results while trying to bake a pecan pie, but these turned out to be incredible! Didn't have all the corn syrup I needed, so substituted honey and maple syrup to make up the additional 3/4 cup and that substitute didn't seem to do anything to the recipe, but perhaps make it more flavorful. The crust on these are to die for...buttery and sinful. I actually cooked the end product about 12 - 15 more and that didn't seem to do any damage either (I was paranoid about it "setting" due to my past pecan pie disasters!), though it did make the crust on the rim a little more chewy and crunchy (caramelized it a bit more--I actually liked that part better...). All in all, a definite winner. One of the best dessert recipes I've used from allrecipes.....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
totally awesome. Better than pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States