Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
My co-worker (with little baking experience)made this recipe for a work contest. He brought it in right out of the oven. It was still warm and had to be eaten with a fork. He won FIRST place. They were even great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by logansmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These delicious, gooey bars are even better than the best pecan pie! The crust is delicious! We used white sugar and white corn syrup for scrumptious results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These bars can be a little difficult to get out of the pan, but they are well worth it! My husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I'm baking this recipe again this year for the holidays. Thought I had rated it, but I hadn't. It's wonderful! I do bake it 15-20 minutes longer than stated and check it every five minutes. Also, I use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
After reading reviews of these being too sweet and the dough not forming properly, I made some changes to the original recipe and they came out really good in the end. I added a few drops of water to the crust ingredients, which allowed it to form a dough. For the filling I also used 2/3 cup light corn syrup, a little less than one cup of brown sugar, and an ounce of unsweetened chocolate. Since I didn't have all of the pecans on hand, I used a mixture of walnuts and almonds along with the pecans. The pan size requested in the recipe should have been slightly bigger, as there was a small amount of crust and filling that remained, which I ended up throwing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Awesome recipe! I've made them several times for student group things to rave reviews! Per suggestions, I add 1 tsp almond extract to the crust and mix dark and light corn syrup. Have sometimes substituted walnuts (cheaper)...someone who doesn't like walnuts even loved them! I also just sent the link to a friend who's now making them for Thanksgiving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Excellent taste and very easy to make! I was a little worried because they did get a little hard around the edges and it overflowed into my oven when I baked them...but I read in previous reviews that it had happened to other people so that was a relief! I baked them then let them cool, then covered them and cut them the next day. They were so great! Rave reviews from everyone at my party! When you're pouring the filling over the crust, it looks like it will be too much, but it works just great! Will use a disposable pan next time because of the overflow. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
These are sooo tasty! I will make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
WOW! These are really good! I used dark corn syrup because that is all that I. I made half the recipe and cooked the bars for 35 minutes and they were not runny at all. Great recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Mmm. I love pecan pie and it doesn't get any closer to the original unless you go to the effort of making pie crust. I really enjoyed how simple, quick, and tasty these bar cookies were. I did not find it at all runny. You just need to make sure it is set before removing it from the oven. I halfed the recipe both times I have made this and it has turned out great. They are less crumbly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States