Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Excellent taste and very easy to make! I was a little worried because they did get a little hard around the edges and it overflowed into my oven when I baked them...but I read in previous reviews that it had happened to other people so that was a relief! I baked them then let them cool, then covered them and cut them the next day. They were so great! Rave reviews from everyone at my party! When you're pouring the filling over the crust, it looks like it will be too much, but it works just great! Will use a disposable pan next time because of the overflow. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are excellent - this is the third year I've made these for our annual choir party potluck, and people were WAITING for them. A couple of things... I made 1/2 recipe which fit very nicely into my 8 x 11 pyrex pan. Made 24 nice large bars. I cooked for about 33-35 minutes unstead of 20 and allowed them to set up and cool before cutting - they were not at all runny. If making the recipe as called for in the large pan I'd do 40 minutes. Also, I found that putting each bar on a small cupcake liner paper was very nice for serving them as they can be crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPRANO39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I'm baking this recipe again this year for the holidays. Thought I had rated it, but I hadn't. It's wonderful! I do bake it 15-20 minutes longer than stated and check it every five minutes. Also, I use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
So, so good. I use all butter, as I refuse to cook with, bake with, or even eat the disgusting concoction known as margarine. I've made this twice already, and it is so good. I'm a southern girl, so I love me some pecan pie, and this is just sinfully good. I use 2 1/2 cups pecan halves, and I don't bother to chop them. I bake this in a 13x9 and reduce the temp just a little to 325. Also, I don't cook the crust quite as long (15 min), and also, the second round of bake time needs to be increased significantly. It is NOT done after just 25 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The amount of flour in this recipe should be 2 cups, not 3. Several recipes I have for this type of recipe only call for 2 cups. After incorporating that change the bars turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years! Always a big hit anywhere I take them! I started lining my pan with foil and after they cool, slide it out of the pan onto the counter and use a pizza cutter to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
After reading reviews of these being too sweet and the dough not forming properly, I made some changes to the original recipe and they came out really good in the end. I added a few drops of water to the crust ingredients, which allowed it to form a dough. For the filling I also used 2/3 cup light corn syrup, a little less than one cup of brown sugar, and an ounce of unsweetened chocolate. Since I didn't have all of the pecans on hand, I used a mixture of walnuts and almonds along with the pecans. The pan size requested in the recipe should have been slightly bigger, as there was a small amount of crust and filling that remained, which I ended up throwing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
OUTSTANDING! I've had distrous results while trying to bake a pecan pie, but these turned out to be incredible! Didn't have all the corn syrup I needed, so substituted honey and maple syrup to make up the additional 3/4 cup and that substitute didn't seem to do anything to the recipe, but perhaps make it more flavorful. The crust on these are to die for...buttery and sinful. I actually cooked the end product about 12 - 15 more and that didn't seem to do any damage either (I was paranoid about it "setting" due to my past pecan pie disasters!), though it did make the crust on the rim a little more chewy and crunchy (caramelized it a bit more--I actually liked that part better...). All in all, a definite winner. One of the best dessert recipes I've used from allrecipes.....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These were wonderful! Next time I'm going to use brown sugar for white, and cut back a little on the Karyo... the bars ooozed long after cooling and cutting. Messy and totally worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were gone the same day! Very delicious, just like pecan pie. However, I made it in a pan bigger than recommended and it still ran over in my oven. Next time I'm going to use a bigger pan. They're yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States