Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Something is definitely off with this recipe. I followed it to the T and it tasted strange. One tip - the pecans should definitely be coated with honey or another sweet coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a quick and easy recipe. I substiuted splenda for the sugar and added some extra vanilla .I also added an extra cup of pecans and used a 9x13 pan. They were a little thicker and had more of a pecan pie filling layer. I cooked them for about 5 mins extra. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I made it as stated except I only had 1 cup of light corn syrup, so I used dark corn syrup for the other 1/2 cup. I looked through every pan I had, and I don't know how common a 10X15 inch pan is, but I didn't have one. I used a 11X17 inch cookie sheet and lined it with wax paper. It worked out great! It filled to the brim and had a couple drips in the oven bottom, but the end result looked fantastic! I'll definitely make this again, maybe trying 1/4 cup white and a 1/4 cup brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used 2 cups of flour instead of 3, but that is the only change I made. I have never had much luck making pecan pie, but this turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These came out perfect with lots of positive feedback. I didn't have a problem with the crust as others have noted. If it was too thick or crumbly your pan may be too small &/or you did not pack the crust down enough before adding the filling. I cooked mine longer- but that was the only change I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
AMAZING! I just made these for Thanksgiving and they are great! I cut the recipe in half, used a 13x9 glass baking dish, and kept the temperature and baking time the same. I also used only butter and used half white sugar and half light brown sugar for the pecan topping. Already cut them up for the holiday, but left the crispy edges for snacking before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I do use a larger pan because I like the crust a little thinner. When I take this anywhere friends ask me for the recipe! Thanks, Marietta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made w/ brown sugar instead of white sugar and cut the recipe in half (using an 8X8 pyrex dish). Also baked 35 minutes instead of what it called for. Oh YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
After reading the reviews, and doing a bit of experimenting, I think I have the final "tweaks" to make this the perfect recipe. Begin by using a bigger pan! The half sheet cake pan with sides is the perfect size...about 13" x 17" x 1 1/4"...no run over! You do have to press down the crust before baking, but there seem to be just the rightr amount of crust for us. I traded out some of the white sugar for brown. 1 cup white sugar plus 1/2 cup dark sugar seems to work well. And one last change, the cooking time. It is way off. I did mine for 45 minutes. It was just starting to bubble around the edges when I took it out, this was also the time it started to brown up a bit. I was worried about how much this recipe yielded, and if it would freeze well. I never got a chance to find out it went so quick! None of the problems of pecan pie, and a protable size. I think this is going to be added to my Thanksgiving menu to cut and send home to sweeten up the leftovers! Excellent recipe - Thanks Marietta for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this exactly and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States