Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is my 4th year making this and my family craves it! I'm expected to bring it for both Thanksgiving and Christmas! I decrease the flour to 2.5 cups, mix my sugar half brown and half white, and same with the Karo syrup (half dark, half light), also increase cooking time on second round maybe 15 minutes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliesha Pennington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
It was great!! Everyone loved them!! Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I was first introduced to these bars at a cookie exchange. Since I love pecan pie these were a hit. A hint when ever making a crumbly crust and or sticky, gooey filling: I use nonstick aluminum foil. This is the best invention since post-it-notes. It causes the crust to come together. The gooey part releases after browning. The added bonus is lifting the whole thing out of the pan using the foil. It is so much easier to cut into bars and there is no damage to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
OMG - These are AWESOME! The only thing I did differently was I used brown sugar instead of white for the topping. Be sure to use a large "jelly roll" pan and you will have no problems with it baking over. The bake time was perfect. As another reviewer stated, I have never made a successful pecan pie, not for lack of trying. This is my new go-to recipe when I am craving pecan pie! I can't stay out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Stevens Clark
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I love these!! So delicious and pretty easy. I made a half batch as Soprano39 had done and that was the perfect amount. I did cook it longer too as many had commented about, and I'm glad I did - they weren't runny at all. I made this because my son in the air force requested them, and he & I are the only ones in the house that like pecan pie, so I was able to get most of these sent off to him leaving me with a few to enjoy too. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made 2 versions on the same day. One with vanilla and one with bourbon. They were okay. The guys loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I loved these.. Set up perfect and so convenient. I used 2 1/3 cup of flour and halved sugar white/Brown. Cooked 5 minlonger and they are perfection. Lined with aluminum made lifting a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a couple of changes though. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also used all butter, no margarine. The bars turned out really good. I would suggest that you scoop some of the filling out so it doesn't run over and cause a mess in the oven, also you may need to lengthen the baking time another 5-10 minutes for the bars to properly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
The only changes I made was the halve the recipe and I used a 9x13 since I didn't have a jelly roll pan and I lightly dusted it with a bit of powder sugar to make it pretty. Some tips. Use real butter for the filling part, this is one recipe that the flavor depends on it, grease the pan well, and while the pan is still warm loosen the filling from the edge of the pan, I waited 10 minutes, but the thickness of the filling will dictate this, and then you will not have an issue with sticking. Finally, these are rich so don't make the pieces too big when you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is great. I used 5 eggs. Used 1/2 brown sugar in filling. Baked at 340 degrees in convection oven. Then refrigerated before cutting. Its disapearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States