Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
OMG - These are AWESOME! The only thing I did differently was I used brown sugar instead of white for the topping. Be sure to use a large "jelly roll" pan and you will have no problems with it baking over. The bake time was perfect. As another reviewer stated, I have never made a successful pecan pie, not for lack of trying. This is my new go-to recipe when I am craving pecan pie! I can't stay out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Stevens Clark
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I love these!! So delicious and pretty easy. I made a half batch as Soprano39 had done and that was the perfect amount. I did cook it longer too as many had commented about, and I'm glad I did - they weren't runny at all. I made this because my son in the air force requested them, and he & I are the only ones in the house that like pecan pie, so I was able to get most of these sent off to him leaving me with a few to enjoy too. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made 2 versions on the same day. One with vanilla and one with bourbon. They were okay. The guys loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I loved these.. Set up perfect and so convenient. I used 2 1/3 cup of flour and halved sugar white/Brown. Cooked 5 minlonger and they are perfection. Lined with aluminum made lifting a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a couple of changes though. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also used all butter, no margarine. The bars turned out really good. I would suggest that you scoop some of the filling out so it doesn't run over and cause a mess in the oven, also you may need to lengthen the baking time another 5-10 minutes for the bars to properly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
The only changes I made was the halve the recipe and I used a 9x13 since I didn't have a jelly roll pan and I lightly dusted it with a bit of powder sugar to make it pretty. Some tips. Use real butter for the filling part, this is one recipe that the flavor depends on it, grease the pan well, and while the pan is still warm loosen the filling from the edge of the pan, I waited 10 minutes, but the thickness of the filling will dictate this, and then you will not have an issue with sticking. Finally, these are rich so don't make the pieces too big when you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is great. I used 5 eggs. Used 1/2 brown sugar in filling. Baked at 340 degrees in convection oven. Then refrigerated before cutting. Its disapearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The best ever! As other people stated, these did need to be baked for approx. 15-20 mins longer than suggested (for the final cook time). I simply set my timer for 10 more mins, then another 5, then another 5...checking the bars in between each time adjustment. My husband raved and basically ate 3/4 of a full batch! Saying, "don't make these again any time soon, or I'll eat the whole batch next time" :-) Good enough for me! (3 year old son's take? "too many nuts, Mommy")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momthesaint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These were a big hit! Second year I've made them for the holidays. Everyone that tried them loved them (especially my husband who is already a big pecan pie fan). I did adjust the recipe to 2 cups flour like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These cookies are really more like candy, very sweet, I cut them into bite size pieces and everyone loved them, I will make them again but will cut the recipe in half as it makes a lot of yummy cookies,,, btw I was short on pecans so I made these with a mix of walnuts and pecans,, it was really good this way,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States