Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Love it! I followed the recipe except I use butter instead of margarine, and I added salt to the topping. Be sure to use the proper sized pan and these will bake up nicely in 25-30 minutes. I recommend lining the pan with parchment paper and allowing the parchment to hang over on all sides for easier cleanup and no problems with the bars sticking. The shortbread crust is amazing with the pecan and caramel topping! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
OMG!! I made this recipe today trying to re-create a pecan bar cookie that I bought at a Bakery, this is the one!! I read the reviews and changed the servings to 24 and baked in a 9X13 pan. I did this not because I don't have a jelly roll pan, but because I knew I would eat all of it myself(kind of kidding!)that and using real butter are the only changes that I made. Make this today, it is a very easy, Superstar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa3boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
First time I made these. I followed PieLandyB's review (12/16/06) and they turned out perfect. I used the 12x18 pan,the parchment paper, split the sugars between brown and white in the filling and added the extra egg and pecans. I let them back 35 minutes instead of 25. Wonderful and I don't really like Pecan Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe. A little to sweet but good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made the recipe as directed using pecan halves vs. pieces; I do think smaller pieces would have been better. These bars taste exactly like pecan pie, and they are rich. I only have a 9x13 pan, so that's what I used; I just didn't use all the crust or filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
These turned out AMAZING! I took the advice of other's and used real butter. I also exchanged the 1 1/2 cup of granulated sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. I also lined my cookie sheet (or what they call a jellyroll pan) with foil and smeared melted butter on top of the foil with a paper towel prior to placing my crust. I made sure and crusted the sides of the pan. This prevented the gooey filling from sticking and made it easier to remove the pecan bars after they were fully cooled down for cutting. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, my family and I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Yes I tried this recipe. I was not happy with it all. The crust has too much flour and it tasted dry. The topping was good. When cooking this recipe keep an eye on it because the topping will burn if not watched. The crust needs more butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These are so good and easy to make. Tastes just like a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Just use the tips offered by the caterer. Everything he said is exactly dead on! Use disposable tin pans and double the cooking time of the "goo" and this recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe. The thick crust adds a balance to the sweet filling. I followed the suggestions on using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugars, baked a little longer (about 40 minutes - did not rotate, I have a convect bake oven). I added 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips to the filling. It turned out wonderful - the whole family loved it! (even those who don't like pecans) I liked that it did not taste overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States