Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
great recipe! was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. Used the Pampered Chef large bar baking stoneware pan and had zero spill-over. Clean-up was a breeze and the bars were delicious! (Did add five minutes cooking time, but probably won't next time since the edges were a little over-done) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I only added 1 cup of light corn syrup and it was just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atlast1996

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Probably the BEST thing I have ever made! I did follow one other reviewer and was caution of the amount of baking time of the filling. Mine took around 32 mins. Just make sure that there is a slight jiggle to the center and that's it. I also added a 1/2 bag of semi-sweet chocolat chips. I ran out of corn syrup and the crust was almost out of the oven so I had to improvise by using about a 1/4 cup of maple pancake syrup. I think it only added to the awesome flavors of this recipe. It is even better then pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a great idea, and serves many, but the crust is all wrong, it simply is not very good. I highly suggest you use my crust recipe instead. (2 cup flour. 1/2 cup powdered sugar (icing sugar). 1cup butter & a pinch of salt)prepared and baked the same way as the recipe. This makes a huge differance, holds together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used a larger sized jelly-roll pan and they came out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made these for Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe and added about a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. Everyone loved them. These went faster than the pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious. Made for Thanksgiving, was a big hit. Per other reviews adhered to following suggestions. Toast pecans at 300 for 10 mins Half brown sugar Half white sugar Don't grease pan, line with parchment paper - Bake w/topping 30 mins - rotate halfway thru - When jiggles a lil but is mostly firm should be done Cool 30 mins, fridge overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made Substitutions. I baked it on a 10 x 13 cookie sheet with sides & it barely fit when I pressed the crust really hard in the middle and sides to make a well for the pecan filling. Per other reviewers, I lined my pan with the new nonstick foil before pressing the crust in & it worked perfectly! I used 3 C. of pecan halves instead of 2.5 C. chopped, used half brown sugar instead of white (in both the crust and topping) & 1/2 cup of Thick n Rich real maple syrup (hard to get a hold of, but they use invert maple sugar which makes it almost as thick as corn syrup)to replace 1/2 cup of corn syrup. (You could probably get away with regular real maple syrup but I used Splenda brown for the brown sugar in the filling and was afraid I might not have enough stickiness if I used thin syrup.) I had watched a Test Kitchen episode where their final product contained maple syrup and brown sugar, hence my substitutions. I'm diabetic so that's why I replaced some of the sugar with Splenda. Anyway, I baked it about 45 minutes in a cooler (325 degree) oven until it was no longer jiggly. However, I did take it immediately to a super-cold surface in the garage (which serves as our secondary refrigerator in the winter.) It was about 40 degrees out there, so it didn't continue to cook much. Once cooled I stored it in the house at room temp because if you served it cold you might crack a tooth! :) The flavor was excellent! The flavor, texture and appearance were all quite lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by girlpower
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe! These bars taste just like pecan pie! A holiday hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpower

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States