Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just tried them and I really liked them. I made 24 servings in a 9x13 dark pan, baked @ 325 for the specified time and they came out great. I had no problems with my crust, maybe the ratio of filling to crust is different if you use a smaller pan? I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY, even using shortening to lightly grease my 10x15 jelly roll pan . 1st) the crust is too flourly and not buttery at all. I actually think it was about 2x more flour then needed; it needed about 1/2 cup more sugar at least to improve the taste. 2nd) the filling was a nice taste but really nothing special. It set okay but I was displeased with the foamy appearance. 3rd) the cooking time in the recipe is not correct as others have stated in their reviews as well; I would up the cooking time once you add the filling to 30 min on 350, but again be mindful to not burn your pecans or overdry the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItzAmazingAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used parchment paper but forgot to spray it with PAM and it stuck like crazy!! People loved them though and I keep getting asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
A favorite in our home! they didn't last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent!! I followed the recipe exactly except baked for 24 servings and used wax paper on a 9x13 pan and it came out perfect. Be sure and check at 25 minutes, mine were done. But several reviewers said it took longer. I am glad I didn't cook longer they would have been ruined. Tip, after baking put in refrigerator to cool then they will cut into pretty squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this recipe according to the recipe but they stuck so bad that I was unable to make nice squares. I want to try again, but I will try either a non-stick pan or maybe parchment paper. They were extremely good just not presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were gooey yummy. Maybe almost too sweet, but so good. They were a much easier replacement for pecan pie. We couldn't stop eating them, but gained a few pounds so next time I make these I'm going to play with it a little and exchange agave nectar for the corn syrup. Definitely making them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaladez3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very rich, easy to make, similar to pecan pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These bars are incredible. I had to put them in another room so I would stop eating them. I used parchment paper as...you have to use this! Makes it soooo much easier! Also, it takes much longer to cook then 25 mins. I’m not sure if that was a typo in the recipe or not but I cooked mine for almost 60. I used a 9 x 13 and will definately use a larger pan next time! You won’t be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I scaled the recipe down to 24 servings as I did not have enough pecans on hand for the full recipe. The crust was was fine and the filling set up nice. The taste was good but not great. My complaint was that it really wasn't sweet enough for a pecan bar and something was missing as far as the taste. Additionally, having scaled down the recipe, i made it in an 8 x 12 and it came out very thin. I would absolutely make the full recipe in a 9 x13 or 8 x 12. No larger than that unless you want a very thin bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States