Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made these today and am very disappointed in them. They are not thick enough and moist enough for my liking. I found them a bit too dry. I did follow the recipe exactly with the exception of using half brown sugar and half white sugar and I used butter rather than margarine as another viewer suggested. I would suggest not baking them for as long as it says - 25 minutes seems too long. I used my large pampered chef bar pan as some one else had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made these for the first time and they are amazing! The only change I made was to use the light version of Karo syrup - the one without the high fructose corn syrup. They are plenty sweet and rich, anyway. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
well, i have not tried this rec. but i will bake this rec. tom. and as someone posted, butter and brown sugar,i bake, and i bet this rec, rocks..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Never use margarine. If you take the time to bake, use the good stuff - butter. Also, powdered sugar rather than granulated makes a more tender crust and toasting the pecans a few minutes gives them a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Love it! I followed the recipe except I use butter instead of margarine, and I added salt to the topping. Be sure to use the proper sized pan and these will bake up nicely in 25-30 minutes. I recommend lining the pan with parchment paper and allowing the parchment to hang over on all sides for easier cleanup and no problems with the bars sticking. The shortbread crust is amazing with the pecan and caramel topping! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
OMG!! I made this recipe today trying to re-create a pecan bar cookie that I bought at a Bakery, this is the one!! I read the reviews and changed the servings to 24 and baked in a 9X13 pan. I did this not because I don't have a jelly roll pan, but because I knew I would eat all of it myself(kind of kidding!)that and using real butter are the only changes that I made. Make this today, it is a very easy, Superstar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa3boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
First time I made these. I followed PieLandyB's review (12/16/06) and they turned out perfect. I used the 12x18 pan,the parchment paper, split the sugars between brown and white in the filling and added the extra egg and pecans. I let them back 35 minutes instead of 25. Wonderful and I don't really like Pecan Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe. A little to sweet but good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made the recipe as directed using pecan halves vs. pieces; I do think smaller pieces would have been better. These bars taste exactly like pecan pie, and they are rich. I only have a 9x13 pan, so that's what I used; I just didn't use all the crust or filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
These turned out AMAZING! I took the advice of other's and used real butter. I also exchanged the 1 1/2 cup of granulated sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. I also lined my cookie sheet (or what they call a jellyroll pan) with foil and smeared melted butter on top of the foil with a paper towel prior to placing my crust. I made sure and crusted the sides of the pan. This prevented the gooey filling from sticking and made it easier to remove the pecan bars after they were fully cooled down for cutting. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, my family and I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States