Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was AMAZING!!!! Followed the recipe exactly. Made sure the parchment paper was high enough and had no trouble with spillage. I will never make a pecan pie again because this was so much easier and made a lot more. Also loved the shortbread crust. TRY THIS AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My daughter's boyfriend almost ate the whole pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Did pretty good for my first time baking these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Quintel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The first time I made these, I made them exactly like the recipes says. They turned out fantastic. Second time, and after reading several reviews, I decided to use parchment paper so could lift them out easier. Well the paper doesn't sit nice in the corners of the pan. I cut two pieces, one for length, and one for width of the pan. I sprayed the corners where there was very little pan showing thinking this would be enough to keep it from sticking in corners. Corners did not stick, but the filling melted and oozed under the paper along the edges. WHAT A MESS. I will go back to using the spray. Parchment paper made a bigger mess then not using it did. I'm sure they will taste just as good. But there is no way they will look as nice. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Tastes so much like pecan pie! And with a little toffee ice cream it is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Monson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Prepared these exactly according to the recipe and they are addictive. Made them at Christmas instead of pecan pie; servings were smaller than a slice of pie and perfect for sampling when there are so many dessert choices. Perfect as written, wouldn't change a single ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe for a dessert to make for the family. It makes a lot but it tastes really good and it's easy. When I made it I had to run to the store to get the corn syrup. It's nice to add 1/2 cup whole pecans in too, but if you do know that when your done it makes it a little hard to cut when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My husband is a huge pecan pie fan so I thought I'd try these for him. He liked them but wasn't very impressed. I for one, LOVED them!!! More for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So-So. would be better made with caramels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is a really good start to something amazing but i found it lacking a little. Another reviewer stated the crust was a too floury and i agree. i would knock off 1/2 cup of flour next time and keep the salt which i omitted as per other reviewers. depending on that result i may even add a couple TBSP of butter. I also used butter throughout instead of margarine. i would use 100% light brown sugar (or 1/2 and 1/2 white and dark brown) in the filling. I may even add 1/2 tsp of salt to the filling next time i do this - the flavor was a bit lackluster and i think it needs some more richness w/added salt and molasses would help with. also, i found a 25 min bake time after the filling was added to be a bit much. next time i will set the timer to 20 mins and check it then - it wasn't dry by any stretch but it was missing some gooieness. I will def make again as it had the pecan pie taste and texture w/out the "pie" so easier to cut, distribute and eat and of course serving size is smaller (although everyone was going back for 3rds and 4ths so maybe not!!). really good base recipe - i'm glad i gave it a go and will try again with stated tweaks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States