Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Prepared these exactly according to the recipe and they are addictive. Made them at Christmas instead of pecan pie; servings were smaller than a slice of pie and perfect for sampling when there are so many dessert choices. Perfect as written, wouldn't change a single ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe for a dessert to make for the family. It makes a lot but it tastes really good and it's easy. When I made it I had to run to the store to get the corn syrup. It's nice to add 1/2 cup whole pecans in too, but if you do know that when your done it makes it a little hard to cut when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My husband is a huge pecan pie fan so I thought I'd try these for him. He liked them but wasn't very impressed. I for one, LOVED them!!! More for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So-So. would be better made with caramels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is a really good start to something amazing but i found it lacking a little. Another reviewer stated the crust was a too floury and i agree. i would knock off 1/2 cup of flour next time and keep the salt which i omitted as per other reviewers. depending on that result i may even add a couple TBSP of butter. I also used butter throughout instead of margarine. i would use 100% light brown sugar (or 1/2 and 1/2 white and dark brown) in the filling. I may even add 1/2 tsp of salt to the filling next time i do this - the flavor was a bit lackluster and i think it needs some more richness w/added salt and molasses would help with. also, i found a 25 min bake time after the filling was added to be a bit much. next time i will set the timer to 20 mins and check it then - it wasn't dry by any stretch but it was missing some gooieness. I will def make again as it had the pecan pie taste and texture w/out the "pie" so easier to cut, distribute and eat and of course serving size is smaller (although everyone was going back for 3rds and 4ths so maybe not!!). really good base recipe - i'm glad i gave it a go and will try again with stated tweaks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Followed recipe exactly and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
These were ok. Not as tasty as actual pecan pie, though I can't place my finger on what is "missing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made these for a potluck, and they were very yummy. I baked for 25 minutes and that was perfect. I made them in my pampered chef stoneware bar pan. I did not line with foil, and next time I will definitely do that. The edges really stuck to the pan! Also, I didn't have enough light corn syrup, so I substituted some with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Not so great. I wish I would have used the expensive pecans and just made a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made these for the first time last week, and boy what a treat. I swapped out the margarine with unsalted butter because I don't like margarine. I didn't have any problems with the crust or the baking time. I followed the recipe and they turned out perfectly. After it was completely cooled, I cut into bars, and got 36. These are so rich and luxurious that I will cut them smaller next time. Soo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States