Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These pecan pie bars are fabulous! The crust is delicious and buttery and it came together very quickly. For the filling I substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar to make 1 cup white sugar 1/2 cup brown. I also reserved a 1/2 cup of the pecans and sprinkled them over the top of the finished bars along with 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips. The chocolate was perfect and soft but did not lost its shape. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Awesome! Took to a tailgate party and everyone loved them! I even kinda liked them and I hate pecan pie! Used an 11x15 cake pan and upped the serving size to 40....it called for 4 1/2 eggs so I used 5. Used half sugar, half brown sugar in the filling. Used all salted butter instead of margarine. Got rave reviews--one man said it was not icky sweet but not bland either, just perfect! Used parchment paper. Placed halved pecans on top instead of mixing them in. So pretty. I loved the crust--just like a shortbread cookie! Kind of formed the crust up the sides to hold the filling in. Had to bake for 40 minutes. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really would rate these at a 3/4 because I have trouble getting them to come out right but Im totally sure that is my fault. Even if I mess them up these taste amazing! I always add mini chocolate chips, not sure if thats messing it up or not. Other than that I just have trouble cooking them right. Sometimes they are still runny, sometimes very hard. I have the same problem with pecan pies. So I know its me but what am I missing? Is there a trick to knowing when they are done!?!? I would love to know because these and chocolate pecan pie are probably my favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
It was good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The only thing I changed was the sugar and the baking time...to about 50 minutes, and even then it had more than a bit of jiggle to it, but it turned out fantastic!! And I used brown sugar instead of white! These were gone so fast. Will definitely be making for holiday get togethers from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by YALIINA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this for my husband's office once, and for a moim's group another time, and it was such a hit! I don't even like pecans, and I love this! I did it in my big jelkt rooll pan with a lid, so I didn't even need to take it out of the pan to serve. It was plenty for a big group. I'll probably make it again for church some time. I added some toffee chips the second time, as suggested by someone pre iously. I don't know that I could even tell, honestly. I chopped my nuts really fine, since I don't like them, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YALIINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made these for family reunion this summer and they were a huge hit. An aunt was asking everybody who made those. I was actually one of the last people she asked. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Easy recipe. I added a couple chocolate chips too. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ewa Lamb
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Makes a big batch of squares. Nice shortbread crust. I had to bake mine 10 minutes longer. Set up nicely and easy to cut after a couple hours. Next time I will use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States