Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
YUM!!! Love pecan pie but not the overly thick filling layer. I love this shortbread crust (made with brown sugar and butter) and the thin layer of filling and lots and lots of pecans. Awesome dessert...and easy on the budget and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These pecan pie bars are fabulous! The crust is delicious and buttery and it came together very quickly. For the filling I substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar to make 1 cup white sugar 1/2 cup brown. I also reserved a 1/2 cup of the pecans and sprinkled them over the top of the finished bars along with 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips. The chocolate was perfect and soft but did not lost its shape. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Awesome! Took to a tailgate party and everyone loved them! I even kinda liked them and I hate pecan pie! Used an 11x15 cake pan and upped the serving size to 40....it called for 4 1/2 eggs so I used 5. Used half sugar, half brown sugar in the filling. Used all salted butter instead of margarine. Got rave reviews--one man said it was not icky sweet but not bland either, just perfect! Used parchment paper. Placed halved pecans on top instead of mixing them in. So pretty. I loved the crust--just like a shortbread cookie! Kind of formed the crust up the sides to hold the filling in. Had to bake for 40 minutes. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really would rate these at a 3/4 because I have trouble getting them to come out right but Im totally sure that is my fault. Even if I mess them up these taste amazing! I always add mini chocolate chips, not sure if thats messing it up or not. Other than that I just have trouble cooking them right. Sometimes they are still runny, sometimes very hard. I have the same problem with pecan pies. So I know its me but what am I missing? Is there a trick to knowing when they are done!?!? I would love to know because these and chocolate pecan pie are probably my favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
It was good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The only thing I changed was the sugar and the baking time...to about 50 minutes, and even then it had more than a bit of jiggle to it, but it turned out fantastic!! And I used brown sugar instead of white! These were gone so fast. Will definitely be making for holiday get togethers from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by YALIINA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this for my husband's office once, and for a moim's group another time, and it was such a hit! I don't even like pecans, and I love this! I did it in my big jelkt rooll pan with a lid, so I didn't even need to take it out of the pan to serve. It was plenty for a big group. I'll probably make it again for church some time. I added some toffee chips the second time, as suggested by someone pre iously. I don't know that I could even tell, honestly. I chopped my nuts really fine, since I don't like them, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YALIINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made these for family reunion this summer and they were a huge hit. An aunt was asking everybody who made those. I was actually one of the last people she asked. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Easy recipe. I added a couple chocolate chips too. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States