Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I love this recipe I followed it exactly but instead of using spray I used parchment paper to line the pan before I cooked the base mixture. I did have to cook the mixture another 5 min . I let them cool 10 min on a wire rack in the pan and then I grabbed the parchment paper and pulled them out of the pan to cool the additional time .....they are rich and good .....thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This needs to be done in a smaller pan instead of a big cookie sheet. Husband loved it but I like more of a pecan pie filling... So cooking it in a smaller pan would help a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made these for a Thanksgiving desert, because a pecan pie just had too many calories. Now my inlaws expect me to bring to every get together. I've even made a batch for my daughter and her fiance to take home to North Carolina. Everybody loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong, but it ended up hard as a rock...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Will never make regular pecan pie again! These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made these for a work pot luck. I couldn't find a jelly roll pan on short notice, so I did as another suggested used a disposible 9x13 cake pan and reduced the servings to 24, but cooked the same amount of time. I also lined the bottom with parchment. I used brown sugar in the filling, and per another suggestion I refrigerated overnight. It came out perfectly, and there were no leftovers. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made exactly as the recipe states. These were very , very good. They are quite heavy though so a tiny piece is all you need. Very buttery and very sweet. Since you only eat a small portion, I might want to play around with cutting the recipe in half because the big jelly roll pan makes quite a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSelvidio
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Yum yum yum. I was worried about the bars being too thick, since all I had was a 9x13, so I used only 3/4 of the recipe (27 servings) and it was perfect. I also used brown sugar instead of white in the filling, as I like the deeper flavor it gives. I did not line my baking sheet, just sprayed with cooking spray. As soon as the bars came out of the oven, I ran a knife along the edges and then let it cool. Cut very cleanly and didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just tried them and I really liked them. I made 24 servings in a 9x13 dark pan, baked @ 325 for the specified time and they came out great. I had no problems with my crust, maybe the ratio of filling to crust is different if you use a smaller pan? I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY, even using shortening to lightly grease my 10x15 jelly roll pan . 1st) the crust is too flourly and not buttery at all. I actually think it was about 2x more flour then needed; it needed about 1/2 cup more sugar at least to improve the taste. 2nd) the filling was a nice taste but really nothing special. It set okay but I was displeased with the foamy appearance. 3rd) the cooking time in the recipe is not correct as others have stated in their reviews as well; I would up the cooking time once you add the filling to 30 min on 350, but again be mindful to not burn your pecans or overdry the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItzAmazingAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States