Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe was so easy and really tasted great. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I had one person ask if he could keep the pie that was leftover (which wasn’t much!) The only thing I changed was that I used light corn syrup instead of dark and I chopped the pecans (just with a knife, a rough chop) and folded them into the egg mixture. Also the pie was done after 45-50 minutes, so make sure you keep an eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seansmoma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Wonderful and easy recipe. This is the only esert that i've made and gotten my family to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Never baked a pie in my life... First time for everything, and OMG this pecan pie was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elleita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherokee, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Outstanding. Delicious. Not a crumb left over. The best Pecan Pie recipe I have tried. My search for the perfect pecan pie is over. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is a simple and straightforward recipe as far as ingredients and preparation, probably the easiest one I've found. However, the cook time drastically varies as I've read some reviews that claim a 50-minute time, while mine took over 80. The filling prior to going into the oven is a little too much for a regular pie crust (it spills very easily since the filling is almost above the height of the pie crust). In my experience the top and crust browned very quickly (30 minutes or so -- in the end the top and crust edges were almost burnt) but the filling never seemed to set properly. I would give this recipe a 4-star for taste (you can't really go wrong with butter, corn syrup, eggs and sugar) but 2 for the actual cooking process. Maybe it's my oven to blame, but such a wide disparity in cooking time seems problematic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
OMG!!!!!!! I had never made pecan pie before because I thought it was to difficult. This is so easy. I made a practice one and gave a slice to a few people and they all loved it. I was asked if I could make a few for people to take to their holiday gatherings!! I love this. Thank you so much for posting this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOMESCHOOLMUMMYX3
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Ok! Ok! I guess I should review this recipe since there's a picture of my own pie up there at the top. LOL I've had this recipe now for 3 or 4 years (maybe longer...I can't remember) and I've made it for Thanksgiving every year since. Everyone RAVES about this pie from the oldest to the youngest. There's even little fingers vying to get the last little sticky morsel in the bottom of the pie plate. Just a week ago I made this pie for our church's annual Harvest Dinner. The volunteers who were working there before the dinner began were taking the pecan pie pieces BEFORE everyone else got there to make sure they got a piece. The pie was gone within minutes after the dinner began. I think next year I'll skip the pumpkin and just take 2 pecan pies. LOL This pie is one of the easier pies that I've made. I love the simplicity of the recipe. There are a few steps, but nothing too elaborate that one couldn't understand. I've always made this with light corn syrup because that's all I buy and it turns out fabulously! My kids love this pie so much that my daughter asked me to copy the recipe for her to put in her recipe box. She's just 10. She says, "No one can make a better pecan pie than you Mom!" So, Jackie, thank you for sharing this recipe here for all of us to savor and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOMESCHOOLMUMMYX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
AND THE WINNER IS...Jackie's Pecan Pie!! When I saw the picture that Mummy took, I've got to tell you, it was like stepping back in time! My mama's cooking was like dying and going to Heaven, no lie! In our family, she gave her recipe for dressing--yep y'all, in the South, we don't call it stuffing--and her pecan pie only to me. I thought I had it memorized until my last pecan pie proved me wrong! I've searched far and wide for something even close to hers and not until I saw Jackie's recipe and Mummy's picture of the finished product did I realize my search was over--that and a little help from reading Jackie's recipe of course!! Thank U, Thank U, Thank U, Jackie!!! I just finished making it, its cooled, its now 7:15 a.m. here in Richmond VA and I've already polished off 2 slices!! Ok, 2 and a "sliver" more! ;o) What a GREAT way to start my Sunday!! Its absolutely, hands down, incredibly DELISH!!!---HEADS UP BAKER'S TIP---Can y'all get "KING SYRUP" in your grocery store? There is only 1 kind and "King Syrup" is the name of it. Its a cross between light and dark Karo syrup and wonderful! It will make any pecan pie FLAWLESS when syrup is called for in the recipe. I do have ONE EXCEPTION to Jackie's recipe and that is to test my pie for "readiness" I always insert the knife into its center not the rim. Jackie, again, thank you thank you so very much for posting this as it brought back some really wonderful memories of my Mama and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Oh my gosh, this pie is wonderful and very easy to make. I forgot to layer the pecans on the bottom of the pie crust so I added them right before putting the pie in the oven. A very pretty pie that has a rich and creamy custard texture filling. Only baked for 50 minutes and used a store bought refrigerated pie crust. Thank you for a great recipe that will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States