Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Its great......we dont find corn syrup easily in switzerland so did the following......about 2/3 cup maple syrup(real stuff!) then some acacian honey and a huge tablespoon of molasses....came out amazing , lust like my Grandma made...brilliant, recommend anytime......and very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This recipe tasted ok, but turned out very ugly and when I made the second time I stirred the ingredients rather than beat them and it turned out a little better, not so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnabellee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Wow. This pie is AWESOME! --For those who don't want to read the whole review; either up the cooking time or the temp and use a cream cheese crust.-- The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the same reason some one else stated: the cooking time was off. I couldn't even tell you how long it really took. At 350, I know it took over 75 minutes. After that I just tossed it back in the oven and checked it once in awhile. As for the flavor, it was closer to 10 stars! I've only made a couple of Pecan Pies before, but this one was the best. My hubby, a self proclaimed pecan pie disliker, mmm'd and ohhhhh'd and wowww'd during the entire piece. A friend of ours said it was the best pecan pie he'd ever had, and promises to be here for Christmas as long as I make that pie. To the pie's credit, I recommend baking it in a Cream Cheese crust. It gave it a yummy cookie type taste. The pie reminded me of my mom's pecan balls that she makes during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie was perfect in flavor and texture. I had no problems with it setting up and think that perhaps those that did, didn't let it bake long enough maybe. I added an extra 1/2 cup of pecans and I used chopped nuts. I didn't have any dark corn syrup so I used light corn syrup and 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white. I used an 8" deep pie pan and it filled it up nicely. I will look no further for a pecan pie recipe, this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This pie was just like Mother's. I made 4 and gave them to neighbors! Then I made one using sugar free syrup so my diabetic neighbor could enjoy. A regular pie crust is needed because it only fills a deep dish crust half full. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had also lost this recipe and was so happy to have found it again. It is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Wow, this was easy as pie! OK, bad joke but it really was. I listened to the other reviewers and only kept it in the oven for 50 min. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
We used light corn syrup and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love to Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
First pecan pie I made and it was a HUGE hit! I used the light corn syrup as someone else suggested. Will make again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
this recipe was very sweet.I dont know if i did anything wrong, as this was my first attempt at a pecan pie, but it did not set well. i will try this recipe again using over reviews of adding corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States