Pecan Nut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I tried this recipe in a 9 inch deep dish pie dish. I pressed the crust all the way up the sides of the pie dish, chilled it, then baked it and the walls of the pie crust melted down into one flat extremely thick crust. It would have worked fine in a 9x13, but this is not functioning as a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I'd like to try this crust to make a splenda cheesecake, that needs baking. How would I do that? Do I still bake the crust first, and then again for the cheesecake filling that needs to bake? Or? ASAP answer appreciated... I'd like to do tomorrow night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was delicious and went extremely well with our toffee-flavored pie filling. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Makes about double what is needed for a 9" crust. When I pressed it into the pan it made a crust about 1/3 to 1/2 of an inch thick, which reduced the volume of pie filling significantly. Good flavor otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Put this over vanilla strawberry walnut pie-was a hit! Plan to use it on various fruit pies & cobblers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have quite enough pecans so I threw in some walnuts and pulsed them together in the food processor. I used only 2T of butter and also used a 9x13 pan instead of the pie plate. It was perfect size. Baked for about 12 min. Went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My brother-in-law is on a gluten free diet and because of that he doesn't get to enjoy a lot of the holiday desserts he once did. I used this recipe for my pumpkin pie adding a half-cup of all purpose gluten free flour to absorb some of the oils from the pecans and butter as yooper63 did. It was glorious. Everyone loved my pumpkin pie, especially my brother-in-law. I will try it next as a crust for my cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wonderful! I omitted the cinnamon because of the flavour of pie I was filling it with. When I first put the crust mixture in the pie plate, it looked like it would be much too thick, but once I shaped it and pressed it in as hard as I could, it was perfect. I did not pre-bake the crust. I filled it with the Key Lime Pie VII recipe from this site (this made it GLUTEN-FREE) and baked it as per that recipe. It is much less sweet than a graham crust, which is awesome with a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but something was off. I had way too much for one pie pan and there was way, way too much butter. I love the concept of this as a gluten-free crust so I'll keep playing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I'd ground up a bunch of pecans and was 1/2 cup short, so I made up the difference with almond meal. This is a great crust for gluten free diets and Passover. I skipped the cinnamon when I made an icebox key lime pie. It was a big hit. I will use this again for pumpkin pie and include the cinnamon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States