Pecan Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I attempted to make this recipe exactly as described... and the sugar was not dissolving for anything... so I took the liberty to add another two tablespoons butter and 1/4 cup apple juice, then simmered on low (not medium) stirring incessantly.... MAGNIFIQUE! It is creamy and crunchy and rich and spicy... and everything I love in an evening snack. If anything, this recipe is a great base for what you can turn into your favorite spread...yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAUNAXOXO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This did not go quite as planned...... I cooked it trying to get the sugar to dissolve, but alas, it did not! I tried adding water to thin it down a little but still no luck. So, I just put it into some jars and in the fridge. I thought maybe I would try it on vanilla ice cream....... to die for! Even though it was grainy, it was still crunchy and wonderful flavor. I will make this again. Who knows, maybe it will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
AWESOME!!! Folks...if you dont let the sugar dissolve and then simmer the mixture for at least ONE FULL MINUTE, of course you will end up with a gloopy mess...the full minute of simmering ensures that every grain of sugar is dissolved...if even ONE grain remains undissolved, it will go grainy again once it cools off...think making candy/fudge ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very odd recipe. First I was intrigued by it; Then I read the reviews and was almost intimidated by it; Decided to give it a go anyway; While cooking it, I thought I had made a terrible mistake (as it was a grainy lumpy mass in my pan and I tried to stir it while letting it get hot enough to dissolve the sugar but not hot enough for it to boil); finally I added a bit more butter and some water to it--so the sugar would have something to dissolve into; Finally I had something that resembled jam!...however my success was short lived. After canning it and cooling it, it's returned to the crumbly sugary state it was before adding the water. Clearly there has got to be some liquid missing in this recipe? I found another one on another site I will try...its basically the same recipe with the addition of 1/2 C apple juice.) For what it's worth, it tasted fantastic before it cooled and hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was an odd recipe - I was sooo excited to try it, but disappointed by the results. I wasn't sure what the final consistancy was supposed to be. The picture looks transluscent, but mine was very fudge like, tan & opaque. Lastly, the flavor had an odd sourness too it - perhaps it was the vinegar, or the combination of vinegar & ginger? Anyway, its a neat idea... but I think I'll try some different ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Maybe I don't know what I was doing but I also felt like there was an ingredient missing. It was so thick while cooking I actually added a little water which made the sugar able to melt. It turned out ok at the end but still a bit thick. Good enough to add to the kids oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe. More of a pecan butter than a jam though. I did add about a tablespoon of honey to the mix, to help with the consistency, and it added a nice flavor. Very good on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Darn. I was hoping the "sugary mess" syndrome" would not afflict my jam: alas, I am left with a jar of streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kind*machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this for my husband who loves pecan pie {I don't like it at all}. He LOVES it! He said it's like having pie on his toast. His favorite is on wheat biscuits. Was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States