Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was a keeper. Everyone loved it. I followed it exactly but did not let it soak overnight (did not have the time). Just let the bread soak till all liquid was absorbed. I turned the bread several times to soak up all liquid. It was a great way to cook it rather than standing over a griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! I made some changes based on other reviews. I was making this for 7 people so I set the serving size to 8. I had 15 pieces of bread but didn't double the recipe. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and did 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and vanilla instead of 1/4 teaspoon. I dipped each individual piece in the mixture before putting it in the pan. I also didn't use melted butter to coat the baking pan. I just used some Pam. When cooking it, I did 20 minutes at 350 degrees but it was still a bit soggy so I cranked up the heat to 425 degrees and cooked it for another 5-7 minutes until the bottom was nice and brown. It came out perfect! It wasn't soggy at all and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
It's pretty good. Some reviewers said it was sweet enough that it didn't need syrup. We did not find this to be true. Nice flavor. Liked the addition of the crunchy nuts on top. It has a nice subtle flavor of orange (would probably have been stronger with the zest- which I didn't use because it was so late at night when I made it, and I was tired). Baked mine 20 min (checked after 10, and 5 and 5).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is very convenient to make the night before a busy day so you can cook them in the morning. Cut the butter in half or else it is extremely buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinx14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was OK...rather bland as the top reviewer mentioned. I had the problem that mine stuck to the baking sheet. With lots of syrup on it, thought it tasted good especially with the hint of orange and the crunchy pecans. Will try a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
used a little less sugar and sprinkled cinnamon on top. also used 1/2 c less cream. poured egg mixture over bread then flipped instead of dipping each individual slice. spread syrup mixture on top and let sit over night as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
really good but the pan is hard to clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe, I followed it to a "t"..but by adding more wet ingredients it prevented it from drying out in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States