Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! I made some changes based on other reviews. I was making this for 7 people so I set the serving size to 8. I had 15 pieces of bread but didn't double the recipe. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and did 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and vanilla instead of 1/4 teaspoon. I dipped each individual piece in the mixture before putting it in the pan. I also didn't use melted butter to coat the baking pan. I just used some Pam. When cooking it, I did 20 minutes at 350 degrees but it was still a bit soggy so I cranked up the heat to 425 degrees and cooked it for another 5-7 minutes until the bottom was nice and brown. It came out perfect! It wasn't soggy at all and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
It's pretty good. Some reviewers said it was sweet enough that it didn't need syrup. We did not find this to be true. Nice flavor. Liked the addition of the crunchy nuts on top. It has a nice subtle flavor of orange (would probably have been stronger with the zest- which I didn't use because it was so late at night when I made it, and I was tired). Baked mine 20 min (checked after 10, and 5 and 5).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is very convenient to make the night before a busy day so you can cook them in the morning. Cut the butter in half or else it is extremely buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinx14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was OK...rather bland as the top reviewer mentioned. I had the problem that mine stuck to the baking sheet. With lots of syrup on it, thought it tasted good especially with the hint of orange and the crunchy pecans. Will try a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
used a little less sugar and sprinkled cinnamon on top. also used 1/2 c less cream. poured egg mixture over bread then flipped instead of dipping each individual slice. spread syrup mixture on top and let sit over night as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
really good but the pan is hard to clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe, I followed it to a "t"..but by adding more wet ingredients it prevented it from drying out in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I'm rating this 5 stars because I think it would be a 5 star recipe if I hadn't added too much bread. I did just over 1/2 loaf on a baking sheet and the egg mixture wasn't quite enough for it all. Thus, some pieces were a little dry. If I'd used a 9x13 pan, it would have been perfect. The orange juice & zest give it a wonderful flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States