Pecan Dijon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
What a terrific recipe! Made this last night for my husband and he loved it. Said it would be perfect to serve when people come over. I pounded my chicken breasts first because they were kind of thick and had to increase the initial cooking time to 20-25 minutes because at 10 minutes, it was still very raw. My picky daughter liked the chicken but without the nuts. She just doesn't like nutes period. Served over brown rice and with a granny smith apple/spinach/candied pecan salad. Again, very, very good. I love this site and everything I have prepared has received countless compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
The sauce for this recipe definately deserves 5 stars. The reason why I am going with 4 is that the cook time for the chicken seems a little short unless you pound the chicken breasts thin. I added more time to my cook time. In addition, next time I think I will try the cornstarch to thicken the sauce, I just don't want to change the taste of the sauce, it is excellent with chicken and rice. I also enjoy the flavor of the pecans! Thanks for a good recipe Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
With a few adjustments this is very good. The first time I found the 6 T. of Dijohn to be too overpowering, so I cut back to only 4 T. Also I added a little more honey. Don't use the ground mustard. It would be way too mustardy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Oh my. I'm sure my low rating is a reflection of our personal tastes and not the recipe itself. Although we like all the ingrediants seperately, we just didn't care for the combined taste. I just wish it tasted as good as it looked coming out of the oven. Thanks anyways Brian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Really good! This tastes similiar to honey mustard chicken - I didn't think it tasted odd at all. Every ingredient blends together and the chicken comes out juicy! The only thing I would change would be to add a few tablespoons of cornstarch because the sauce is a bit too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
YUMMY! Made exactly as written and loved it! When my grandma was still alive this was one of her favorites so I made this a lot. I've never even altered it in any way like I eventually do with most recipes! So moist and flavorful it doesn't need any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was VERY easy and good. Even my picky son loved it! The sauce is excellent over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Sorry, we did not like this -- it was just way too sweet for our taste. I'm giving it two stars because the first few bites were good, but after that we all had to force ourselves (some of us scraping off the sauce) to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This chicken was ok, nothing to really rave about. Im glad that I scaled it back to 1 serving. I increased the OJ buy a few tbsps, but even then the mustard was too strong. If I make this again I will make a few changes: cut the dijon mustard in half, and add more OJ, maybe add more milk. I would also add the pecans to the top so that they get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Easy and delicious. I think I'll make double the sauce next time I try this. It was wonderful over steamed rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States