Pecan-Crusted Walleye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Just made this tonight - Wonderful! I did make a mess of the coating. After putting the first fillet through the pecan meal, the remaining meal turned into a goopy sludge and it was difficult to coat the other fillets. It still tasted fantastic - just not very uniform or as appealing in appearance as it might have been. I think next time I might try dipping the fillets in the egg mixture and then spooning the coating over each fillet. Also wondering if it would be good with a coating of 2/3 pecan meal to 1/3 panko crumbs? Pecans sure ain't cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delicious! One of my new favorites. We call it Pickerel up in Canada. I would make my own pecan meal next time as the store bought one is a bit too fine and I think this would be nice with a little more texture. Serves with sautéed green beans and grape tomatoes and fingerling potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this tonight and it was wonderful! I did find a pecan panko breading mix at Whole Foods so I didn't have to add much seasoning but the fish cooked perfectly. Served with some risotto and fresh advocado/tomatoes. Super quick and easy summer week night dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Very good recipe for fish. I used tilapia and it was delicious and very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made my own pecan meal for this recipe by putting whole pecans in my chopper and pulsing until they were turned to crumbs. However, I don't think that worked very well because the pecans started to become moist and mushy (on their way to becoming nut butter). Next time, I will add flour to the mix and I think that will help prevent this problem and help the breading to not clump on the fish. This recipe had nice flavor and walleye is a meaty fish, so my husband didn't have as much a problem with it as he sometimes does with other kinds of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Well done. Nice light flavor. Served well with Risotto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Yummy! We used Swai fish, but can't wait to try it with fresh-caught walleye. Very quick and easy. The whole family enjoyed it (even picky young kids)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Hint - Pecan meal is just finely ground pecans. Or you can take chopped pecans, put into a zippy bag and crush them with a rolling pin. You just don't want big pieces. When I created this recipe, the idea was to find a flavorful, but light crust for the delicate fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States