Pecan-Crusted Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very good. Was surprised at how good the rosemary worked with it. We had several small brook trout fresh from the river. I baked them whole and had to bake them a couple of minutes longer because of the thickness. My husband was delighted with the taste. I'll be saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
We fish for wild trout every year and just brought home 74 of them for our freezer. Needless to say, I've tried many recipes for trout, but this one is the very best I've tried. I did swap the flour for Panko, the egg for 1/4c melted butter, and I will use half the salt next time. Delicious! I will make this recipe many times! Thank you, Devin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I really liked the recipe and found it to be quick and easy! I did find the recipe to be a bit salty but will adjust this next time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
this was a great recipe, we had trout with skin, so put the skin side down, they were large pieces, I used 2 eggs, mixed panko & flour, also the idea to increase the pecans is good, and used my blender to finely chop the pecans, everyone really liked it, served with Caesar salad and steamed broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was really good. It was just a tiny bit on the salty side so next time I'll cut back on the salt a bit. Also, There was not enough crust so I'll make more of that next time as well. I toasted my pecans before I used them which added to the depth of flavor. Overall, a great base recipe. Thanks Devin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this for my fiancé and it was a huge hit. I actually did skin on fillets and I took the first persons advise by swapping out the flour or Panko and swapping the egg for a mixture of butter and a little but of honey for some added sweetness. I coated the trout with Panko then brushed on my butter mixture. I just patted on the pecan blend I loaded it up. We paired this with some couscous and it was a home run. WHEN I make this again I will also add some asparagus or maybe some brusselsprouts to make this a complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
An easy way to have a wonderful meal for guests and also replace scrumptious home cooking for going out for fish. Very, very good! We have done this to speckled trout and redfish now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I prepared this last week with fresh water bass, my husband loved it, we have since shared with other fisherman we know..This is a keeper... 5 stars.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Had this tonight with our freshly caught rainbow trout! It was fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
this was ok, maybe needed sauce that was recommended, needed to double amount of pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States