Pecan-Crusted Pork with Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
The pumpkin butter was delicious! I had trouble getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops, but then I seem to have that trouble with anything breaded. (Guess I don't know the secret to breading.) Anyway, it tasted really good, my family loved it, and I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have been cooking for years. The best way that I found to make a great crust is a mixture of mayo and dijon mustard with a few drops of water mixed together, dip pork chops, chicken or even fish in it. In another bowl pour panko (found in oriental section) bread crumbs and seasoned bread crumbs together with pecans or for Italian dishes grated parmesan cheese. Heat a pan with enough oil just to cover meat 1/2 way.Cook until crisp then finish in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is a grat recipe. I never tried it with Pumpkin Butter before, it's delicious As far as "getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops", the best thing to do is to add a egg to the bread crumb and pecans and then coat the pork chops with this mix. The egg will help it stay in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I'm not so great when it comes to frying in the pan, these were a little over done, but had a good flavor. I might try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1COOKINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was a fun way to use my leftover pumpkin puree from pumpkin pies. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the cooking method. I seared both sides of the pork in a hot skillet, then finished cooking them in the oven (at 400) for about 15 minutes. I find this leaves them very moist. Also, I breaded them and refrigerated for an hour before I cooked them, I think this helps the coating to stay on better. My kids loved the chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Yum! The pork chops themselves were fine, but the pumpkin butter was great! There was a lot left over, but I'm glad there was -- like others have mentioned, it'll taste good on toast and such. It also tastes amazing with the "Pumpkin Rolls II" listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The kids loved this, especially the pumpkin butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I cheated. OK, I had a jar of Williams Sonoma Pumpkin puree in my cupboard and was looking for a good way to use it. This was it! This was a really yummy combination that I never would have thought of myself, but am so glad Drew did! I prepared the pork chops per the recipe and they had a sweet and crunchy crust that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Nice fall dinner. I used store bought pumpkin butter (Trader Joe's makes a good one) and will cut the bread crumbs/pecan mixture in half next time as I had alot leftover. Served with Shredded Brussels Sprouts and leftover sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States