Pecan-Crusted Pork with Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
The pumpkin butter was delicious! I had trouble getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops, but then I seem to have that trouble with anything breaded. (Guess I don't know the secret to breading.) Anyway, it tasted really good, my family loved it, and I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I'm not so great when it comes to frying in the pan, these were a little over done, but had a good flavor. I might try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1COOKINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Drew
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Hey guys, a couple of you are saying you were having trouble with the coating not sticking to the meat. I didn't add the traditional breading method of flouring and dipping in egg wash for two reasons. The first of which is that I wanted the cleanest flavors possible and to not have the breading be to heavy (adding eggs and flour not only makes the breading thicker but they also add flavor) Secondly, the meat itself is sufficiently moist enough to hold the coating if pressed into the meat. Also please note that the pan MUST be hot. If the pan and oil are not hot then the coating will absorb the oil helping for the breading to separate and the breading is likely to stick to the pan. I hope this information is helpful for future people making the recipe. ~Drew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is a grat recipe. I never tried it with Pumpkin Butter before, it's delicious As far as "getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops", the best thing to do is to add a egg to the bread crumb and pecans and then coat the pork chops with this mix. The egg will help it stay in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have been cooking for years. The best way that I found to make a great crust is a mixture of mayo and dijon mustard with a few drops of water mixed together, dip pork chops, chicken or even fish in it. In another bowl pour panko (found in oriental section) bread crumbs and seasoned bread crumbs together with pecans or for Italian dishes grated parmesan cheese. Heat a pan with enough oil just to cover meat 1/2 way.Cook until crisp then finish in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe was ok, but I probably won't make it again-BUT don't completely take my word on it, because I made my pork chops slightly different than the recipe. I mixed half & half and egg together to dip in the pork chops before rolling in the bread crumbs and pecans. I also cooked them in the oven rather than the stove. I put some pecan halves on top of the chops before cooking, which was delicious. I also accidentally forgot to put pumpkin butter on them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Good. The pumpkin butter was a bit sweet, I won't use as much sugar next time. I tried this recipie based on the pumpkin butter (which I'd never heard of before). It's good - I would eat it alone & luckily, the recipie makes more than enough pumkin butter. The crusting on the porkchops is also good. I used salted pecans & crushed as well as I could by hand (I don't have a food processor). I ended up with a few big pecan chunks & that was just fine. Overall, I would definately make this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seanandelectra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was a nice fall dish. There was so much pumpkin butter that I decided to dredge the pork chops in some of the butter before I rolled it in the crumb mixture. I also used thick pork chops, browned them in oil and finished them off in the oven. 400 for 35-40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
good, next time I would add some spices to the breading. Maybe some all spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teffer K
Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was great! I dipped the pork in an egg wash first. I used Italian panko crumbs for the bread crumbs. These were the only changes I made. I currently have a foreign exchange student living with me from Germany and he was wanting to email the recipe to his parents. We all enjoyed this recipe. I would encourage you to really pat the crumbs into the meat. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States