Pecan-Crusted Pork with Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made this for a dear friend's birthday supper. I was quite skeptical about the pumpkin butter, but it was a hit! My kids are squabbling about who is taking the leftovers for lunch to work (I hit a sale on pork chops, so I made nine). I could not find pumpkin puree at the grocery (apparently it's seasonal, or else no one cooks with it anymore), so I used pumpkin pie filling, omitted all the spices and sugar, and just used the apple juice. Also, because I wanted the breading to really stick, I dipped the chops in beaten egg. Yum, lots of thumbs up at my house. Thanks for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
By itself the pork chops are still very bland. However, with the Pumpkin butter they are wonderful. I will use this recipe again. I did add a teaspoon of nutmeg to the pumpkin butter on accident (my daughter was talking to me and I thought I had the cinnamon, still added the cinnamon too though). I was out of cloves, so didn't add those. I really enjoyed the nutmeg in it though. Everything else I did as the directions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Yum! The pork chops themselves were fine, but the pumpkin butter was great! There was a lot left over, but I'm glad there was -- like others have mentioned, it'll taste good on toast and such. It also tastes amazing with the "Pumpkin Rolls II" listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I cheated. OK, I had a jar of Williams Sonoma Pumpkin puree in my cupboard and was looking for a good way to use it. This was it! This was a really yummy combination that I never would have thought of myself, but am so glad Drew did! I prepared the pork chops per the recipe and they had a sweet and crunchy crust that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Sadowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I make this all the time and my family loves it! The only two things I do differently is substitute "Honey Bunches of Oats with Pecans" cereal instead of bread crumbs and I cut the Pumpkin Butter ingredients in half. Make sure the chops are thin enough so they cook through. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Nice fall dinner. I used store bought pumpkin butter (Trader Joe's makes a good one) and will cut the bread crumbs/pecan mixture in half next time as I had alot leftover. Served with Shredded Brussels Sprouts and leftover sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Yummy! This is a great recipe for a pork chops. My husband made these one night recently and we all loved them. There is a lot of the pumpkin butter left. We just froze it for a later use. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I cut the crumb mixture in half & still had to throw some out. I dipped each chop in egg 1st to help the crumb mixture stick well. The chops took a LONG time to cook through, I guess the crumb topping insulates the meat, but the chops were DELICIOUS when finished, especially with the pumpkin butter. Hubby loved the pumpkin butter, but not ON the chops - prefered it on bread. I found the pumpkin butter to also be more than really needed & kept the extra in the refrigerator to eat in the morning with toast. NOTE: the pumpkin butter is NOT savory like I expected, it's sweet. May go better with the pork if 1/2 the sugar (or more) cut out and add a pinch of sage or curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Absolutly delicious!! I dredged the chops in the pumpkin butter, then into crushed ritz crackers. It didn't even need the butter as a topping. Will definitely make this again, and probably keep a jar of the pumpkin butter for toast and bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States