Pecan-Crusted Pork with Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
The pumpkin butter was delicious! I had trouble getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops, but then I seem to have that trouble with anything breaded. (Guess I don't know the secret to breading.) Anyway, it tasted really good, my family loved it, and I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have been cooking for years. The best way that I found to make a great crust is a mixture of mayo and dijon mustard with a few drops of water mixed together, dip pork chops, chicken or even fish in it. In another bowl pour panko (found in oriental section) bread crumbs and seasoned bread crumbs together with pecans or for Italian dishes grated parmesan cheese. Heat a pan with enough oil just to cover meat 1/2 way.Cook until crisp then finish in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is a grat recipe. I never tried it with Pumpkin Butter before, it's delicious As far as "getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops", the best thing to do is to add a egg to the bread crumb and pecans and then coat the pork chops with this mix. The egg will help it stay in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I'm not so great when it comes to frying in the pan, these were a little over done, but had a good flavor. I might try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1COOKINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was a fun way to use my leftover pumpkin puree from pumpkin pies. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the cooking method. I seared both sides of the pork in a hot skillet, then finished cooking them in the oven (at 400) for about 15 minutes. I find this leaves them very moist. Also, I breaded them and refrigerated for an hour before I cooked them, I think this helps the coating to stay on better. My kids loved the chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Yum! The pork chops themselves were fine, but the pumpkin butter was great! There was a lot left over, but I'm glad there was -- like others have mentioned, it'll taste good on toast and such. It also tastes amazing with the "Pumpkin Rolls II" listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The kids loved this, especially the pumpkin butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made this for a dear friend's birthday supper. I was quite skeptical about the pumpkin butter, but it was a hit! My kids are squabbling about who is taking the leftovers for lunch to work (I hit a sale on pork chops, so I made nine). I could not find pumpkin puree at the grocery (apparently it's seasonal, or else no one cooks with it anymore), so I used pumpkin pie filling, omitted all the spices and sugar, and just used the apple juice. Also, because I wanted the breading to really stick, I dipped the chops in beaten egg. Yum, lots of thumbs up at my house. Thanks for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I cheated. OK, I had a jar of Williams Sonoma Pumpkin puree in my cupboard and was looking for a good way to use it. This was it! This was a really yummy combination that I never would have thought of myself, but am so glad Drew did! I prepared the pork chops per the recipe and they had a sweet and crunchy crust that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Sadowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States