Pecan-Crusted Pork with Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
MY OH MY! One of the better pork chop dishes I've made in quite some time. That pumpkin butter is something to behold!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I got a great crust by making the following adjustments: I made the breading by finely chopping 1/2 c pecans and 1/2 c Fiber One cereal in the food processor (I'm sure regular breadcrumbs work fine in place of the cereal, it's just one of those nutrition "sneaks" I use to get more fiber). I dipped the pork chops in a beaten egg before pressing them into the pecan mixture for a thick coating. Then I cooked the chops by coating the skillet with a generous amount of cooking spray instead of using oil. It worked great, and I give the pumpkin butter a thumbs up too. Served the pork with sauteed green beans and a flaky biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was great, and I'm not usually a fan of pork chops. I made a couple of changes due to what I had on hand. Instead of breadcrumbs I used about 1/2 cups of crushed cornflakes and 2 TBSP of wheat germ. Also, I only had 1/2 cup of pecans but it was enough for 4 thin chops (just barely, but enough). I dipped the pork chops in an egg before dipping them into the pecans to make them stick. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataboutdinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The homemade pumpkin butter definitely made this dish, but it is extra work. Store bought pumpkin butter works just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The pumpkin butter is so wonderful with the pork. I may try to bake the chops next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The pecan crusted pork was quite good, but felt the pumpkin butter over powering. It actually turned out like something you'd spread on your morning toast. The combination didn't exactly hit the mark. Too much work for so little results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suchaprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
It didn't look all that pretty at first, but one bite and my husband and I were hooked. I made the pumpkin butter (I was skeptical at first) and it just made the entire meal AMAZING! I do believe that was the first recipe my husband has made multiple and many compliments on. (ie, he raved for the first time ever) Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Wonderful dish. The contrast between the salty, meaty pork and pecans with the sweet autumn pumpkin butter was fantastic. Try it without sugar; it really isn't necessary. I've made this dish for my very picky boyfriend who is "morally opposed" to eating "meat with sweet" as he says, and he loved it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was awesome! I would have never thought that the two tastes of pumpkin and pork would blend so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States