Pecan Crusted Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I wanted to love this, but the only flavor I could taste was pecans-couldn't even taste pork. Maybe grinding the nuts up superfine and using less of them might help? It does call for an awful lot of pecans. Maybe salt and pepper the pork itself instead of mixing the S&P with the nuts? And maybe adding another layer of flavors?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
So after reading previous reviews I took their advice. I used Dijon mustard and real maple syrup instead of the flour/egg mix. I did fry in butter because there are just some times that using real butter adds a flavor you can't get with olive oil. I also had to "hold" dinner until everyone was here so I fried them and then let them sit, covered, on the stove. Popped into the oven when we were ready. They turned out perfect! So moist and delicious. This one got RAVE reviews from the family. This is going to become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I'm sorry, but this just did not turn out well at all. The pecans scorched very easily, and the burnt flavor was not pleasant. It sounded so good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very good! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added some brown sugar to the pecans. Wow! We loved it! I also had some eggbeaters to use up, so used that instead of real eggs. I don't know if that changed anything or not. We will have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I totally agree that this recipe needs something sweet. But, instead of adding it directly to the meat, I made a cherry demi-glaze to pour on top of the pork chop. Delicious! Just reduce 2 cups of beef broth down to 1 cup. Add 1 cup of good red wine and a big handful of dried cherries, salt & pepper. Then reduce this more. You can make this ahead or have it reducing while you prepare the pork chop. What a delicious meal this is with the demi-glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
BEST PORK CHOPS I EVER MADE! I tenderized the foool out of them with my multi-blade tenderizing gadget and added a little cajun seasoning to the pecans instead of salt and pepper. I then made a sauce by deglazing the pan with a little chicken broth and then mixed in 1 cup of fat free evap. milk and 2 TBS coarse dijon mustard. I simmered it (do not boil) until thick. Absolutely tender, flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul_Foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I just made a couple of changes. Instead of the egg and flour mixture (some comments said it was to thick) I mixed some dijon mustard with some honey and coated the pork chops in that before dipping them in the pecan mixture. I fried lightly in olive oil and then since I don't have an oven proof skillet, I moved them to a glass casserole that I sprayed with pam. So delicious! Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My boyfriend liked this so much, he requested me to make it for his birthday. Perfect with a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Buurma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Super simple and very tasty. I also added brown sugar to the pecan mixture and I thought that made a positive impact on the overall flavor. My husband and I both thought that it could still use a little more flavor though so next time I will make a fruit compote to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added 2 tspns of brown sugar. If the original recipes called for a sweet ingredient like brown sugar or honey I would have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States