Pecan Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
i liked these alot, the only thing i would change is more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
These were awesome. I had a recipe for great pecan crescents that was given to me a couple of years ago, but it had somehow gotten lost and I was looking for another. This was the closest I could get, and they taste pretty fantastic. Even my neighbour who doesn't like pecans enjoyed them, and I got asked for the recipe. I used 1 1/3 cup of pecans, as that's what I had, and it was plenty - 2 may be too many, but try it and see. Thanks for a great recipe! I am -definitely- making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. My best friend used to make these cookies for my mother and I all the time. I have an easy way to mix the dough.You need to use your food processor to mix everything. First put the pecans in the food processor (I used 2 cups of pecans instead of 1 cup) Let the pecans process so that it becomes close to a paste. Then you add the softened butter, sugar, vanilla and flour. This allows the mixture to mix perfectly. Then just form the dough into little crescents which I measured by using a teaspoon. I was able to make close to 75 cookies this way. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had misplaced by own recipe so was I really happy to find this one here. It's perfect - although in my opinion a recipe is easier to follow if the ingredients are listed in the order to be used. Comment. For the person who needs crescent-shape-making help - take a walnut-size piece of the dough, roll in a ball quickly, then just change the rolling action to make a small log shape. Lightly pinch the ends as you bend the cookie placing it on the cookie sheet. Very quick, no trouble whatsoever. If your mixture is too dry, I would suggest more creaming action is required. The ingredients actually provide for quite a moist dough. Rather than roll the cookies in icing sugar, this time I sifted the sugar over the cookies - it saved a lot of time. I had to bake for 17 minutes but the timing is always subject to the individual oven. Thanks for the recipe. I doubled my batch because these cookies always go quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I like this recipe. It's easy and it worked out great. It's a simple addition to add to my Christmas cookies to have something other then chocolate and to use up the rest of my pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
The taste of these are delicious, but my crescent making skills could use some help. Thanks for the yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made these for Christmas. They were easy and tasty. I rolled them into little balls instead of making crescents. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These were so hard to find! I knew what I was looking for but had no idea what they were called. I made them into 1 inch balls instead of crescents. The dough seemed too dry at first but they turned out wonderfully. I really had to be carefule rolling them in the sugar- maybe I should have let them cool more but one crumbled. Wonderful though. Just the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LORIKAE
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
MMMMmmm....the taste of these brings me back to my childhood growing up in the south. I too know these cookies as Southern Wedding Cookies, except for the crescent shape. In my opinion, the time it takes to shape them into crescents isn't really worth the work unless you want to make a presentation of them. But these are some of my favorite cookies! I substituted half the butter for vegan margarine and the other half of the butter with water. They still came out buttery and melt-in-your-mouth perfect! Don't be shy with rolling them in the confectioners' sugar as this enhances that melty sensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly. I found that they spread some on the cookie sheet, so they are not perfect crescent shape. The taste is good, but not a favorite a my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States