Pecan Clouds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I separated the cold eggs and then let the whites sit until room temperature. Also had the pecans stored in refrigerator so put them in the oven for a few minutes until they were room temp also. I used sucanat rather than brown sugar and I heated the oven to 350 degrees and then after I put in the cookies, I cooked for five minutes and then turned the oven off and let it sit in the oven overnight. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Yummy!!! The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp of Almond Extract. Thanks for posting, Joe!!! And, thanks to Kathleen (Dec. 22, 2010) for her helpful tips, which I followed. I separated my eggs early, added my 3/4 cup of "packed" (make sure you do pack your brown sugar as you are measuring, or you will only use half the sugar you should be using) brown sugar one Tbs at a time, and, by being patient, I was able to whip up a perfect meringue with cheap hand-held mixer. I baked at 250* for the hour, let them sit in the oven for 30 more minutes, and they were perfect. Looked like clouds and tasted like awesomeness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Reyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exact, but just added another 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I didn't have enough room on my cookie tray to bake all the cookies in the main oven, so I ended up baking the remaining cookies in a toaster oven at the same time and they all still came out perfect. They were quite tasty, and it was hard not to eat just one. Even my gluten-sensitive friend loved them. I never had anything quite like these before. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sher345

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
SO GOOD!!! I can't believe how good these are!! My husband loved them and he's not a big fan of meringues! These will be made over and over and over. I did double the vanilla, just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used one half the amount of pecans, chopped, and it was a lot! Very chewy and delicious, I couldn't stop eating them. I want to try this recipe with even less nuts and see how it works. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I had to make flourless cookies for passover and found these to be a delicious hit that was much tastier than your plain old meringue cookies. The pecans were a nice touch as well as the use of brown sugar. I tried the recipe without any changes and it was lovely on its own and when I made them the second time, I added maple syrup and both times were yummy! Nice cookie to make for a cookie exchange too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were the best meringues I've ever had! I love Meringues and have made them a lot of times, but these were nutty and crunchy goodness. These are one of my favorite cookies ever. They were gone in ten minutes. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
They weren't the prettiest thing I've ever seen but the taste was so heavenly. Not hard to make, just make sure its not raining outside or they won't set right because of the moisture in the air. One of my new favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Just wolfed down my first two. I think I almost did everything you could possibly do wrong- and these still managed to come out good! :) I used dark brown Demura sugar- wrong. So, there was still 'grit" in the mix. I was nervous to overbeat the whites however, cause they were already pretty stiff. So I thought, Oh well, grainy meringue! I put them on 2 separate baking pans- both were stoneware with parchment paper ontop. I switched them from one rake to the other halfway thru. Left them in the oven turned off more than a half hour, cause I had to go pick up my son from school. All this, and the outside was kinda a crunchy, crust like texture. then the inside just was nutty, yummy, and melt in your mouthy.. I can't wait to share these with family and friends! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystalfraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are delicious, it's hard to stop with one or two...I made these for my mother-in-law who can't eat flour, but have to stop eating them or there will be nothing to take to her tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States